How to Use (videos)...
Tools
- Citation tracking tools (1 min.)
- DOI Finder Tools (2 min. 15 sec.)
- Document Delivery/ILLiad (2 min.)
- FindIt (1 min. 30 sec.)
- Journal Finder (1 min. 45 sec.)
- NovaCat (1 min. 30 sec.)
- Using databases
- Selecting subject databases (3 min.)
- Databases for a comprehensive literature review 1 min. 45 sec.
- ABI/Inform
(2 min. 30 sec.) - ERIC:
- Searching (2 min. 30 sec.)
- Subject searches (3 min.)
- Limiting options (2 min. 15 sec.)
- Locating tests and measures (2. min - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (2 min. 30 sec.)
- PsycINFO
- Locating tests and measures (3 min. 30 sec.) - Sage Research Methods Online (2 min.)
- Ulrichs (2 min.)
- WorldCat (1 min.)
- Search strategies
- Alternative terms
and synonyms (3 min. 30 sec.) - Boolean operators:
- Exploding terms (1 min. 30 sec.)
- Sensitivity vs. specificity -- clinical queries (1 min.)
- Truncation (2 min.)
- Wildcards (1 min. 15 sec.)
Comments (0)
Library Workshops
Alvin Sherman Library workshops are open to students in any department or program.
To attend an online session, click on the link in the event listing.

Loading...
Survey Questions
Library ReSEARCH Videos for NSU Doctoral Students
Mining for Ideas (videos)
- Getting started (1 min.)
- Navigating to the NSU Libraries
- Alvin Sherman Library (1 min.) - Locating types of information:
- Searching the web (4 min. 45 sec.) -- wikipedia, search techniques for Google - Advanced Search, and NSU's portal to Google Scholar, FindIt and Journal Finder
- Books (3 min. 15 sec.) -- References resources and subject encyclopedias, books and e-books in NovaCat, Google Books, WorldCat
- Articles (3 min.) -- trade publications, scholarly journals, research studies in ERIC, recommendations for future research, subject databases in other disciplines, serendipity, reference lists, Journal Finder and Document Delivery
- Subject databases (3 min.)
- Dissertations (3 min. 45 sec.) Mining dissertations?
- Gray literature
- Conference papers (1 min. 30 sec.)
- Reports (1 min. 30 sec.)
Drilling Deeper (videos)
Drilling Deeper -- How to find specific types of information for the research study
- Difficult-to-find information (2 min. 45 sec.)
(Global searching across databases, Searching for terms within the text of documents, WorldCat, Google Search, Locating gray literature on the web, Google Books) - Subject searching, thesauri, and using field codes-- focusing results
- ERIC (3 min.)
- Research methods and studies
- Methodologies (3 min. 30 sec.)
- Quantitative research video (11 min.) and library guide
- Qualitative research video and library guide
- Seminal works and landmark studies (2 min.) --citation indexing in Web of Science, ERIC, Google Scholar, reports, dissertations
- Statistics and data sets (1 min. 30 sec.)
Tool -- APA Library Guide
- APA "how-to" videos
- Turnitin and using APA to avoid plagiarizing (9 min. 30 sec.
Tips
Selecting a topic
- Start broad and then narrow using delimitations
- Scan article and dissertation abstracts
- Select a topic where there is theoretical literature
- Select a theory or model and look at the literature regardless of topic
- Review literature on instruments and/or assessment procedures
Searching for literature and refining the topic
- Use demographics to delimit search
- Search for theoretical literature
- Check "References" and "Cited by" links.
- Search for prominent individuals and landmark studies
- Research the historical context
- Locate definitions
- Locate previous literature reviews
- Search a citation index such as Social Science Citation Index
- Keep a search journal of search strategies, alerts and their expiration dates, and passwords for My Research accounts
How to Find (videos)....
- Books (3 min. 15 sec.)
- Conference papers and proceedings (1 min. 30 sec.)
- Dissertations (3 min. 45 sec.)
- NSU MARPs, Practicums, and Applied Dissertations Database (2 min. 15 sec.)
- Journal articles ( 3 min.) and peer-reviewed articles
- Reports (1 min. 15 sec.)
- Seminal works and landmark studies (2 min.)
- Statistics and data sets (1 min. 30 sec.)
- Tests and measurements
- Overview (4 min.)
- Obtaining permission to use published and unpublished instruments (6 min.)
- Providing permissions to use (3 min.)
- Reviews and copies of actual instruments (4 min. 45 sec.)
Databases: - PsycTESTS (6 min. 30 sec.)
- CINAHL (1 min. 15 sec.)
- ERIC (2 min.)
- HAPI (2 min. 45 sec.)
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database (5 min. 15 sec.)
- PsycINFO (3 min. 30 sec.)
- Web of Science (1 min. 45 sec.)
- Theories, use of:
- Part 1 Quantitative (7 min. 15 sec.)
- Part 2 Qualitative and mixed methods (11 min.)
- Locating theories (11 min. 15 sec.)
Need Help?
-
Ask in Person
-
Ask by Phone
-
Ask by Email
-
Ask by Chat
-
Ask by Text
-
Schedule an Appointment
What kind of appointment do you need to make?
» One-on-One research help for me
» Faculty request for classroom
» Middle/High School & Public groups


Loading...
