Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

MSMS 5060, BMME 8059 Scientific Communication: Resources & Funding from NSU

Course Guide for MSMS 5060, BMME 8059 : Scientific Communication

Grant Writing Laboratory

NSU Grant Writing Laboratory

The NSU Grant Writing Laboratory provides a variety of valuable services to NSU faculty and professional staff members with the goal of improving success with grant-seeking, specifically focusing on obtaining funding for research grants.

Geek Week 2016 - Grant Writing Presentation

Scientific Writing & Grant Writing Resources from NSU

President's Faculty R & D Grant

As one of many means used to address the University's Mission Statement and specifically the issue on how the University "is fostering intellectual inquiry, leadership, and commitment to community” President Ray Ferrero, Jr. initiated the President's Faculty Scholarship Award Program in 1999 (now the President’s Faculty Research and Development Grant).

The Grants are designed to bring recognition and funding to the University's faculty as they attempt to secure resources in support of research activities. The program is proactive in terms of providing impetus and direction toward research activities and in turn the program receives a considerable level of attention by the University's administration as a means of faculty support.

Each spring full-time faculty across the university compete for the Grants that can reach a maximum amount of $10,000.00. In the eleven-year history of making these awards, 581 faculty members have shared $2,147,364 in financial support of research and scholarship at NSU. Grant winners have come from each of the university's sixteen academic units.

pivot database logo

 

Pivot focuses on what matters most to Research Administrators, Research Development Professionals, and their institutions: the ability to identify and connect funding opportunities to researchers at their institution. 

Pivot combines the most comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion with a unique database of 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles.

Its proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to your organization (and others) and matches them to current funding opportunities in the expansive Pivot database. Promote your research with a Pivot Profile.

Creating a Pivot account allows you to track and share grant funding opportunities, and set up funding alerts which send you weekly updates of new grants available in your field.

Registration Tips:

  • the email address you use to register for Pivot becomes your Pivot username
     
  • creating a Pivot account allows you to then claim your Pivot scholar profile (see tab above), containing information about your research and publications
 

The Foundation and Grants collection is located on the north side of the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library on NSU's Main Campus.

Foundations & Grants Collection:

The Reference Department also houses a cooperating collection of the national Foundation Center. This collection, known as the Foundations and Grants Collection, includes the Foundation Directory Online database, a core collection of Foundation Center publications, and a variety of supplemental materials including information on scholarships. It also houses a small circulating collection donated by the Association of Fundraising Professionals to assist its members in becoming certified. As part of the University's commitment to the Foundation Center, Reference staff provides training both in groups and one-on-one for this collection. Learn more about the Foundations & Grants Collection.

Foundations Today series:

  • Foundation Giving Trends: Update on Funding Priorities (HV85 .F665) 
  • Foundation Staffing: Update on Staffing Trends of Private and Community Foundations Foundation Growth and Giving Estimates. (AS911.A2 F7) 
  • Foundation Reporting: Update on Public Reporting Trends of Private and Community Foundations (HV85 .F686) 
  • Foundation Yearbook: Facts and Figures on Private and Community Foundations (HV85 .F688) 
  • Grant Guides series (35 publications) 

None of the books or journals in the Foundation and Grants Collection can be checked out. The online database is accessible only from the library; remote access is not available. Photocopiers are available at the library for a nominal fee. Users may print from the library's public computers for a nominal fee as well. Library visitors are reminded to observe the federal laws regarding unauthorized duplication of copyrighted materials and software.

Loading

The Foundation Center

 

The Alvin Sherman Library serves as a Cooperating Collection for The Foundation Center and provides a wide range of services to help those involved in preparing grants and soliciting funds from foundations.  The Foundation and Grants collection is located on the north side of the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library.

The Foundation Center is a national nonprofit service organization recognized as the nation’s leading authority on organized philanthropy, connecting nonprofits and the grantmakers to tools they can use and information they can trust. Its audiences include grantseekers, grantmakers, researchers, policymakers, the media, and the general public.

The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. grantmakers and their grants; issues a wide variety of print, electronic, and online information resources; conducts and publishes research on trends in foundation growth, giving, and practice; and offers an array of free and affordable educational programs.

The Foundation Center website provides valuable information for grantseekers. 

 

The Foundation Center offers multiple classroom and online training courses to get you started with your grant search. 

 

  Like the Foundation Center!

 

Ask Us - Foundation Center

 

Foundation Directory Online 

The Foundation Directory Online is a database available for use on the public computers in the Sherman Library. This database is not accessible remotely. Users can print information for a nominal charge or download for free.

Foundation Directory Online provides users with information on over 90,000 foundations and various other giving programs and charities. The database features facts on over a million awarded grants and thousands of companies. It also has a customizable option to search over 500,000 filed 990 forms. The Foundation Directory Online contains some visual data as well including an interactive mapping tool to show recently awarded grants.  

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online - 

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, The Foundation Center's online database of funding for individuals, is accessible to the public via a computer in the Grants and Reference Collection of the Alvin Sherman Library. The database is not accessible remotely.

Users can quickly search through a comprehensive database of over 4,000 foundations and public charities that fund a wide range of needs for individuals. Users can print or download information from the database at no charge.

Featured grantmakers award funds for: educational support (scholarships and student loans); general welfare; arts and cultural support; awards, prizes, and grants by nomination; international applicants; company employees (education and general welfare); students and graduates of specific schools; and research and professional support. Additional information about scholarships is available at http://nova.campusguides.com/ScholarshipInformation.  

Loading