BMME 8053 Introduction to Bioinformatics: Find Articles
The primary goal of this course is to introduce the student to the field of bioinformatics and the skills needed to manipulate datasets from biological studies. Computer exercises will include working in the UNIX/LINUX environment, interpretation of DNA
Citations and abstracts for literature on aquatic science resources including aquatic science, aquatic organisms, fisheries, and oceanography. Covers serials, books, reports, conference proceedings, and limited distribution literature. Includes 5 subfiles which can be searched individually or in combination.
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation. BioOne provides the scholarly community with a must-have collection of 171 critical, high-quality, high-impact titles from 129 publishers across the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. 60 of these titles are exclusively available online through BioOne. 70% of BioOne's titles are currently ISI ranked, and many titles are considered leaders in their respective fields.
This resource offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. This valuable database contains more than 2.5 million records from thousands of domestic and international titles dating back over 100 years with over a thousand active core titles.
Citations and abstracts for sources on the environmental sciences and related topics including bacteriology, biotechnology, ecology, environmental engineering, health and safety science, human population, microbiology, natural resource management, pollution, risk, sustainability, toxicology, and water resources.
About Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management is a multidisciplinary database that provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Over 2,073,041 records as of January 2008.
Major areas of coverage include: --Agricultural biotechnology-- Air quality-- Aquatic pollution-- Bacteriology-- Ecology-- Energy resources-- Environmental biotechnology-- Environmental engineering-- Environmental impact statements (U.S.)-- Hazardous waste-- Industrial hygiene-- Microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues-- Pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive-- Risk assessment-- Safety science-- Toxicology & toxic emissions-- Water pollution-- Waste management-- Water resource issues-- More information.
Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.Serials list.
1981 to present. Updated: monthly.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Online help available after log on.
Online thesaurus available.
NSU faculty, students and staff: On campus and remote access.
Registered Broward patrons: On campus access only.
General Public: Walk in access within the library.
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide combines databases on all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology. With excellent world coverage, this database includes research on aquaculture species ranging from culture and propagation to genetics, behavior, ecology and habitat. With over 1,150,000 citations and abstracts dating back to the 1970s, this resource is essential for those dealing with all aspects of fish and aquatic biology.
Waters & Oceans Worldwide combines databases on all facets of international water research. With excellent world coverage, this database includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment. With over 1,854,600 citations and abstracts dating back to the 1970s, this resource is essential for those dealing with all aspects of water and water-related subjects.
Provides abstracts, cited references, times cited, and links to full text when available for peer reviewed articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Tools allow citation tracking, exporting of citations, etc. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can also be searched separately.
Provides citations and abstracts on research literature in the biological and life sciences and related topics including bioengineering, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, oncology, toxicology, virology, zoology, and others. Includes 25 subfiles which can be searched individually or in combination.
CHEMnetBASE is a collection of online reference books containing extensive information on chemical substances. It includes the classic Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and a number of other collections of chemical substance information including ones on Organic Compounds, Marine Natural Products, Drugs, Polymers, Natural Products, and others. Information included are names, chemical diagrams, molecular formula, and a wide range of chemical properties.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed video journal devoted to the publication of techniques and protocols for biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. JoVE General is the primary reference resource from JoVE. Areas of techniques covered include, but are not limited to: Molecular Biology, Bioinformatics, Computational Biology, Marine Biology, Environmental Biology, Veterinary Medicine, and Non-pathogenic Microbiology.