Just for Teens @ Alvin Sherman Library: Got Homework?

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

What is a database?

What is a database?
A database is similar to a website; however, unlike random websites that anyone can post on the internet, a database is a collection of information that has been published electronically by a credible source / publishing company.   The content within the database has been reviewed by professionals (experts, educators, librarians, etc.) for accuracy.  Just like a book, you can look up information in a database, use it for research reports and assignments, and cite the information.   Many of the library’s databases are available from any computer that has internet access.  Databases are free for you to use with your Alvin Sherman Library card! 

Why use a database?
Databases come in handy when:  

  • a book is not available at the library
  • you need the most up-to-date information available
  • you can’t get to the library but you can get to a computer that has internet
  • the actual library building is closed since the databases are available 24/7

What databases are available at the Alvin Sherman Library? 
The library offers a ton of helpful databases on a variety of subjects.  Click here to view our list of "homework helper" databases!   The school bus icon highlights the databases that are for recommendedfor students in grades K-12!  

How can I access these databases?
You must have an Alvin Sherman Library card  or a Sharklink username and password to access the databases.  To enter, please visit www.nova.edu/library/main and click on databases. 

Free Online Practice Tests!

Click here to access the Testing & Education Reference Center database.  This database provides detailed information on:

  • colleges, universities, private secondary schools, and specialty programs
  • scholarships
  • test preparation (including free online practice tests for SAT, ACT, FCAT, GED, and more)
  • over 70 related e-books
  • resume builders
  • career assessment tools

You will need your Alvin Sherman Library card or NSU Sharklink ID to use this database.

Opposing Viewpoints

Researching a current event or controversial issue?  Need pros and cons for a debate?  Then click here to enter the Opposing Viewpoints database! 

You will need your Alvin Sherman Library card or NSU Sharklink ID to use this database.

World Book: Student

Click here to enter the World Book Online databses, including World Book Student, Advanced, and Discover.  Each of these online encyclopedias feature articles that include maps, timelines, audios, and/or video clips. 

You will need your Alvin Sherman Library card or NSU Sharklink ID to use this database.

(Click here for Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazagos)

Great Databases for History

The databases listed below have full-text articles, images, maps, timelines, audio, interviews, and/or e-booksthat you can use for reports and projects: 

The African American Experience
The American Indian Experience
The Latino American Experience

  • Includes ebooks, interviews, maps, images, audio, music files, and timelines.

Biography in Context

  • Full-text database provides biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Daily Life Through History

  • Provides full text information, maps, images, and website links on folklore, cultures, and customs of peoples around the world from ancient times to the present.

Pop Culture Universe

  • Covers popular culture in America from the 1900s through present days.  Great database for researching fashion, trends, and other historical landmarks that characterize a specific decade.

Science Online

Click here to enter Science Online.  This database presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Subjects include biology, chemistry, computer science, earth science, environmental science, forensic science, mathematics, physics, astronomy, and weather.

You will need your Alvin Sherman Library card or NSU Sharklink ID to use this database.