Skip to main content

Introduction to the Health Professions Division Library: Databases

About the HPD Library: hours, library services for students, faculty, alumni and visitors

Comprehensive Lists

What are Databases?

  • Collections of journal articles and abstracts
  • Access: HPD Students, Faculty, Staff
  • See the Library Guide for your group (Nursing, Pharmacy etc.) to see which databases are best for use in your subject area
  • Tutorials

 

 

Power Search

Create a Power Search in EBSCOhost  or Ovid by searching multiple databases simultaneously.

EBSCOhost

Ovid

Exam Preparation Resources

Statistical Databases

Test, Measurements, Assessment Instruments

Issues with Ebooks?

Known problems with some eBooks:

1. Timing out - use link below to clear cache and try again

2. Book not available or in use message - try again later

3. If eBook continues to be unavailable, please contact us!

hpdref@nova.edu

954-262-3106

Search PubMed for articles

What is PubMed?

PubMed (MEDLINE) is the National Library of Medicine database for medical research.

PubMed has a public website that does not link to HPD Library subscriptions.

Use the NSU PubMed to link to full-text articles using the Find It! button.

PubMed Mobile (mobile site)

Databases with Clinical Information and Procedures

 

Evidence-based Resources

Multi-disciplinary databases

Podcasts

Audio-Digest is a library of podcasts.

Subjects:

  • Anesthesiology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Practice
  • General Surgery
  • Internal Medicine
  • Neurology
  • OB/GYN
  • Oncology
  • Opthalmalogy
  • Orthopaedics
  • Pediatrics
  • Psychiatry
  • Urology

 

Is my journal Peer-Reviewed?

Peer-reviewed journals are also called:

  • scholarly
  • refereed

 Urichs Periodical Directory

  • Indicates if a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed
  • Type full name of journal

Impact Factor

Find Journals with high impact factors in Journal Citation Reports

OR

Find out how many times your article was cited as a reference by other authors:

  • Go to Web of Science
  • Choose Cited Citation Search

Practice Guidelines

Drug Resources

Free resources:

NLM Drug Info Portal

Drug Trials: Center Watch

Library subscription resources:

Dissertations

Image databases