Skip to main content

Osteopathic Medicine: Atlases, Cases, Sounds and Images

Recommended resources for HPD College of Osteopathic Medicine students and faculty

Atlases, Cases, Sounds and Images

 

An extensive list of links to websites which provide animations, movies and interactive tutorials for anatomy and physiology.

The Auscultation Assistant provides heart sounds, heart murmurs, and breath sounds in order to help medical students and others improve their physical diagnosis skills.

The Big Picture Book of Viruses is intended to serve as both a catalog of virus pictures on the Internet and as an educational resource to those seeking more information about viruses. To this end, it is intimately linked to All the Virology on the WWW, and our collection of Virology Courses and Tutorials.

University of Texas Medical School has put together over 900 case files arranged by year with the most current being at the bottom.  You can search by Case File #

An extensive list of ocular-related cases, which include history, exam, differential diagnosis, radiology, pathology and final diagnosis.

 

eSkeletons is produced at the University of Texas at Austin this site provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. This includes: high-quality images of bones, labels of all muscles, articulations, and morphological features and high-resolution 3-D renderings of the skeletal elements in both animation (Quicktime) and interactive virtual reality (VRML) format.

   

Frontiers in Bioscience hosts normal and abnormal heart sounds are presented as .wav files. 

Currently, the HEAL collection is comprised of images, videoclips, audioclips, animations, PowerPoint presentations, and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) files, covering a wide scope of health educational topics, including anatomy, pathology, neurology, and radiology. Access is free but registration is required.

InnerBody is an interactive anatomy atlas with over 100 animated illustrations and thousands of descriptive links. The Interactive Anatomy includes links to such anatomy systems as the nervous system, endocrine system, digestive system, and reproductive systems.

Interactive Images of Disease is based at the University of New South Wales School of Pathology, the site includes pathology images, including the history of the illness and a description of each specimen.

The laboratory includes images with text and tutorials "that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease states". Examples of WebPath's resource categories are: general pathology; organ system pathology; histopathology; laboratory exercises, and; mini-tutorials.

 

Medstudent’s Heart Sounds

1) You have to choose the heart sound you would like to hear and click on its link.
2) Save it to your disk(computer) in a place(directory) that you know.
3) Go to this directory and click on the file(heart sound) that you have saved.

Photograph, Image and Video Catalog from the National Eye Institute at the National Institutes of Health. Free for use in presentations, handouts, etc.

 

An extensive collection of pathology images based at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign. The site is organized into six volumes: general pathology; cardiovascular pathology; endocrine pathology; pulmonary pathology; renal pathology; selected normal images.