Click [Choose Databases] to add the following additional databases:
þ Biomedical Reference Collection:
þ CINAHL Plus with Full Text:
þ Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials:
þ Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews:
þ Cochrane Methodology Register:
þDatabase of Abstracts & Reviews
þ Health Technology Assessments:
þ NHS Economic Evaluation Database:
þ Nursing & Allied Health Collection:
Academic Search Premier
SportDiscus (sports medicine)
*Check the "Apply Related Terms" box to enhance your search
Web of Knowledge - Thomson (Web of Knowledge)
Provides access to Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index), Medline, and Journal Citation Reports
**Enables you to sort your results by Times Cited - Highest to lowest
**Does not have a peer-review/refereed/scholarly article limiter.
This is a WONDERFUL concise video that was made by North Carolina State University and I really think it is worthwhile to view it!
Journals recognized as scholarly by their academic or medical peers
Identify peer-reviewed journals by searching for the journal title in Ulrich's Periodical Directory.
**Use synonyms for your concepts
including both more specific and/or more general terminology can be useful and separate these terms by OR
(EX:) blood OR hemoglobin OR plasma
**Use the wildcard symbol (often the asterisk (*)) to truncate
(EX:) child* will retrieve child, child's, children, children's
**Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase
(EX:) "global warming"
Use Boolean operators when allowed
AND – use to combine concepts (when both must be present)
OR – use for synonyms (when either term could be present)
Use parentheses to group terms