Skip to main content

Dental Medicine: Multimedia

An instructional pathfinder to researching for HPD Dental Medicine students and faculty

HPD Anatomy Images

HPD Library subscriptions:

AccessMedicine  
Graphics, images, and illustrations from medical reference books. Browse the Multimedia tab 
Also try Harrison's Internal Medicine, Chapter 12 - Atlas of Oral Manifestations of Disease

Anatomy.tv

Anatomy.TV offers quick, easy access to the complete line-up of three dimensional human anatomy modeling modules produced by Primal Pictures. Access single modules targeted to a specific body region, professional function, or medical specialty and suites of modules covering the entire human body. Includes interactive 3D human anatomy models, MRI and CT scans, clinical images, movies and animations, self quizzes, functional anatomy, and a dedicated dentistry module in the Clinical Specialties section. 

Anatomy and Physiology Online - APO is now part of anatomy.tv Look for the Anatomy & Physiology tab in the left side menu of anatomy.tv
With 19 body system modules. complete with clear 3D images, comprehensive text, clinical and case studies, learning objectives and quizzes. APO provides all of the online, supplemental material needed to support a 2-semester anatomy and physiology course. Users can interact with anatomy by peeling away layers, rotating models, and reconstructing layers back to their original structure.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination  
Video demonstrations of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques

Clinical Key 
50,000 high-quality images from an extensive collection of reference books and journals. Clinical Key images are easy to export for PowerPoint presentations 

Red Book Online  
Includes the Visual Library, containing more than 2,500 infectious disease images for use in diagnosis and presentations, as well as extensive infectious disease information. 

VisualDx  
Pictorial diagnosis builder.

Amirisys Imaging Reference Center
A comprehensive source of radiology references for all medical professionals - not just radiologists - who work with imaging tests.
Amirsys offers a combination of high-quality images, classical diagnoses, and evidence-based clinical content. There are 72,000 x-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasound illustrations and images, plus evidence-based content - including over 4,000 diagnoses - provided by imaging experts. Includes over 40,000 journal references.  Easily export images in PowerPoint format for presentations. 

Anatomy Images

Freely available on the web:

eSkeletons Project
University of Texas at Austin osteology database

Hardin MD - Medical Picture Gallery
University of Iowa's Hardin Medical Library list of medical images of diseases, conditions, and medical diagrams

MedEDPORTAL
Peer-reviewed collection of health teaching materials includes dental videos from ADEA
 
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
Library of medical photographs and illustrations produced by the National Library of Medicine - see also Videos and Cool Tools
 
Oral Pathology Image Database
University of Iowa College of Dentistry Department of Oral Pathology, Radiology, & Medicine - Atlas of Oral Pathology