Literature: Using Literary Criticism and Resources

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Literary Criticism and Resources - Artemis

About Literary Criticism and Resources

Literary Criticism and Resources - Artemis allows you to search over across many literature collections and databases to find biographies, literary criticism, work overviews and more. Select 'Advanced Search' to chose how you want to search: either by keyword, by author, by the name of the work or by many other fields as well. Typically when looking for literary criticism it is easier to search by author last name using the "person-by or about" field or searching for the name of the work as shown in the examples below.

Examples:

literary database image

 

 

another literary database image

 

 

After you have performed a search it will provide content and subject listings on the left hand side of the page to help narrow down your results. Some of the "content types" include: literary criticism, biographies, topic & work overviews, and primary sources. These links will help you pick out what type of document the item is, whether it is literary criticism, a biography  or something else. Most of the results are full text with full text links and citing options.

This database is a good starting point  when looking for literary criticism and researching a particular author or work.

Some other terrific literature databases if you are looking for literary criticism are: Literature Criticism Online or Salem Literature