Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

United States Government Resources: Catalogs, Indexes and Databases

United States government resources in the Law Library and on the Internet.

FDsys

The Government Printing Office (GPO) maintains an online catalog of government publications called FDsys. Want to know more about FDsys? Click here. Want to learn how to use FDsys? Click here.

USA.gov

USA.gov is the U.S. Government's Official Web portal.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States, published by the Census Bureau from 1878 to 2012, was "the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." Beginning in 2013, the Statistical Abstract is being published electronically by ProQuest. All registered users have access to this database while on the NSU campus. Off-campus, access is limited to NSU and Broward County users. The Law Library also maintains a subscription to the print version of the ProQuest Statistical Abstract, which is published by Bernan. This publication does not circulate, but everyone who comes to the Law Library may use it.

1940 Census Data

On April 2, 2012, the National Archives and Records Administration released data from the 1940 census. For the first time, all individual records are available online. Click here to view the home page for the 1940 census data.

Catalogs, Indexes and Databases

American FactFinder

  • The new AFF, which includes data from the 2010 Census, is structured differently than its predecessor. To help you find information using the new source, go to the information sheet created by the Western Illinois University Libraries.

Browse Topics

  • A service of the Federal Depository Library Program, Browse Topics helps you locate data, conduct research, and learn about various government Web sites.

Catalog of Government Publications: New Electronic Titles

  • This dynamic resource allows you to locate new electronic resources in the Catalog of Government Publications. You can also search for new print publications, and view archived lists of publications going back to April 2005.

C-SPAN Video Library

  • "Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives." Programs are extensively indexed, and immediately accessible.

Census Data Center

  • The University of Missouri has created this database of U.S. Census information for all 50 states.

CyberCemetary

  • Site providing permanent public access to web sites and publications of defunct federal agencies, from the University of North Texas Government Documents Department.

FOIAOnline is a multi-agency FOIA tracking and processing tool which allows requesters to register as a user to:

  • Track progress on each request (for all participating agencies):
EPA - U.S Environmental Protection Agency
MSPB - Merit Systems Protection Board
DOC - U.S. Department of Commerce
FLRA - Federal Labor Relations Authority
NARA - National Archives and Records Administration
  •  Communicate directly with the staff handling requests at all points in the process
  •  Receive records electronically to eliminate mailing fees and delivery delays
  • Guest users are welcome to submit requests, search for previously released records, and generate reports, but the tracking and communications features will not be available.

FRASER Federal Reserve Archive

  • FRASER® (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research) preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. To this end, various types of documents have been digitized, including the following:

    • Publications of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
    • Publications of District Federal Reserve Banks
    • Statements and speeches of Fed policymakers
    • Archival materials of Fed policymakers
    • Government data publications
    • Statistical releases
    • Congressional hearings
    • Books
    • Reports by various organizations

Government Catalogs, Indexes and Databases

  • Another great resource from the librarians at the University of North Texas Government Documents Department.

Government Information Resources, University of Virginia Library

  • Comprehensive and easy-to-use resource for federal and Virginia state government resources.

GovernmentAttic.org : "Rummaging in the Government's Attic"

  • "Governmentattic.org provides electronic copies of hundreds of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act."

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

List of Federal Agency Internet Sites

  • Created and maintained by the Troy H. Middleton Library of Louisiana State University, in partnership with the U. S. Government Publications Office. Based on the U.S. Government Manual, the List directs users to the Web sites of active Federal agencies. Users can view a hierarchical or an alphabetical list of all agencies. The agencies are also listed by broad category, such as boards/commissions, legislative, and quasi-official. The entire list is searchable by agency keyword as well.

Market Research Library

  • Great source of research reports on markets around the world, provided by the U.S. Commercial Service.

Public.Resource.Org

  • Provides access to current and archived state and federal government documents,including "recycled" PACER documents (previously requested from PACER and donated by the original requestor).

Registry of U.S. Government Publication Digitization Projects

  • "The Registry contains records for projects that include digitized copies of publications originating from the U.S. Government. It serves as a locator tool for publicly accessible collections of digitized U.S. Government publications; increases awareness of U.S. Government publication digitization projects that are planned, in progress, or completed; fosters collaboration for digitization projects; and provides models for future digitization projects."

University of North Texas Digital Collections: Government Documents

  • In addition to making available the Cyber Cemetery of defunct federal agency websites (see link above), the University of North Texas is digitizing its collection of government documents. Check frequently for updates!

USA Trade Online

  • USA Trade Online is the U.S. Census Bureau’s premier web based product used to access U.S. international trade statistics for over 18,000 commodities going to 240 trade partners. It contains detailed data at the district, port, and state level with commodity detail by the Harmonized System and North American Industry Classification System.

Librarian Profile

Becka Rich's picture
Becka Rich
Contact:
(954) 262-6237 (voice)