Black History Month: Databases

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Tips

Click here for more information about the advantages of using databases and click here for a full list of databases available.   

Look for the school bus icon for recommended databases for students in grades K-12!

Music Online

Did you know that the library has a database that lets you listen to music, create personal playlists, get free biweekly music downloads, and more?  

Music Online (Alexander Street Press) aims to provide the most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web! 

Use A Database!

Can't find a book?  Search for an article online in a database! 

The databases listed below have full-text articles, images, maps, timelines, audio, interviews, and/or e-books relating to Black History Month: 


ABC-CLIO Databases - ABC-CLIO
Provides access to five cultural resources: The African American Experience, The Latino American Experience, The American Indian Experience, Daily Life Through History, and Pop Culture Universe. Includes ebooks, interviews, maps, images, audio, music files, and timelines.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU, Broward, and Alumni.



Biography in Context - Gale Cengage Learning
Full-text database provides biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users.



Black Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users.




Daily Life Through History - ABC-CLIO
Provides full text information, maps, images, website links, etc. on folklore, cultures, and customs of peoples around the world from ancient times to the present.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU, Broward, and Alumni.



Pop Culture Universe - ABC-CLIO
Covers popular culture in America from the 1900s through present days. Teaching aids and student study guides are available.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU, Broward, and Alumni.


World Book Online - World Book Inc.
Entry for all World Book products: Kids, Student, Advanced, Discover... all from one launch pad!


Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users.