Chicago Manual of Style: How Do I Cite Articles

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Notes and Bibliography

Notes/bibliography is the older version of CMS.  Typically used in the disciplines of literature, history and the arts it accommadates endnotes or footnotes and a bibliography to fully document a paper.

Below are citation examples:

Books: One Author

Bib Entry:

Druckman, Daniel.  Doing research: methods of inquiry for conflict analysis. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2005.

Endnote/Footnote:

   [1] Daniel Druckman. Doing research: methods of inquiry for conflict analysis (Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2005).

 

Books: More then One Author

Bib Entry:

Cheldelin, Sarah, Daniel Druckman, and Larissa Fast. Conflict: from analysis to intervention. New York: Continuum, 2008.

Endnote/Footnote:

   [1] Sarah Cheldelin and others. Conflict: from analysis to intervention (New York: Continuum, 2008).  

 

Books: One Editor

Bib Entry:

Sandole,  Dennis J. D., ed. Handbook of conflict analysis and resolution.  New York: Routledge, 2009.

Endnote/Footnote:

[1] Dennis J.D. Sandole, ed. Handbook of conflict analysis and resolution (New York : Routledge, 2009).

Notes and Bibliography

Notes/bibliography is the older version of CMS.  Typically used in the disciplines of literature, history and the arts it accommadates endnotes or footnotes and a bibliography to fully document a paper.

Below are article citation examples:

One Author

Bib Entry:

Perito, Robert M. "Police in Peace and Stability Operations: Evolving US Policy and Practice." International Peacekeeping 15, no. 1 (2008): 51-66.

Endnote/Footnote:

Perito, Robert M. "Police in Peace and Stability Operations: Evolving US Policy and Practice." International Peacekeeping 15, no. 1 (2008): 51-66.

 

More than One Author

Bib Entry:

Rosenberg, Sam, and Thomas E. Weisskopf. "A Conflict Theory Approach to Inflation in the Postwar U.S. Economy." American Economic Review 71, no. 2 (1981): 42.

Endnote/Footnote:

Rosenberg, Sam, and Thomas E. Weisskopf. "A Conflict Theory Approach to Inflation in the Postwar U.S. Economy." American Economic Review 71, no. 2 (1981): 42.

Author-Date System

The author-date system of CMS is typically used in the disciplines of physical, natural and social sciences.

Below are article citation examples:

One Author

Reference:

Perito, Robert M. 2008. "Police in Peace and Stability Operations: Evolving US Policy and Practice." International Peacekeeping 15, no. 1: 51-66.

In text citation:

(Perito 2008) or if quoting add page number after year ex. (Perito 2008, 101)

 

More than One Author

Reference:

Rosenberg, Sam, and Thomas E. Weisskopf. 1981. "A Conflict Theory Approach to Inflation in the Postwar U.S. Economy." American Economic Review 71, no. 2: 42.

In text citation:

(Rosenberg and Weisskopf 1981) or if quoting add page number after year ex. (Rosenberg and Weisskopf 1981, 101)