Genocide and Holocaust Studies: Survivor Testimonies

Visual History Archive (VHA) USC Shoah Foundation
info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Visual History Archives (VHA) USC Shoah Foundation

Alvin Sherman Library is pleased to announce that we have access to the Visual History Archive (VHA) USC Shoah Foundation. This resource contains over 54,000 testimonies relating to the Holocaust and other genocides.This is the biggest digital collection of this type on the planet,  the archive gives an unparalleled look at the experience of genocide as told by survivors as unedited, personal narratives of life before, during, and after a genocide.

Testimony found in the Visual History Archive (VHA) USC Shoah Foundation includes information about the:

Holocaust

Armenian Genocide 

Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda of 1994                            

Nanjing Massacre in China

Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996

Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979

Interviews were conducted in over 31 different languages with English being the largest language represented-some videos in languages other than English include subtitles.

You will need to make your own account to use this resource!

Other Resources

Contents of the Visual History Archive (VHA) USC Shoah Foundation

The Visual History Archive is a fully streaming primary source that includes:

  • Almost 54,000 video testimonies at an average of two hours each
  • Roughly 115,000 hours of film (equal to 13 years’ continuous streaming content)
  • Over 900 German transcripts
  • Almost 64,000 index terms in English, applied at the one-minute segment
  • Over 712,000 images (photographs, documents, works of art, artifacts from war, etc.)
  • Filmed in 63 countries
  • Testimonies given in over 40 languages
  • 1.85 Million names of family members and prominent figures
  • Roughly 49,000 locations referenced
  • 2,500 recitations of literary works (poems, letters, diaries)
  • Over 2,100 musical recitals
  • 2,300 interviewers
  • 1,000 videographers

Video Demonstrations: Basic and Advanced Searching using the USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

 

 

Citing Sources from the Visual History Archive (VHA) USC Shoah Foundation

In MLA 8

Citing a segment

Birnhak, Rinah. “Segment#: 1.” Interview. Visual History Archive, USC Shoah Foundation, 2016, http://vhaonline.usc.edu/viewingPage.aspx?testimonyID=52767&returnIndex=0. Accessed 12 May 2016.  

Citing entire interview

Birnhak, Rinah. Interview. Visual History Archive, USC Shoah Foundation, 2016, http://vhaonline.usc.edu/viewingPage.aspx?testimonyID=52767&returnIndex=0. Accessed 12 May 2016.

In APA

Citing a segment

Birnhak, R. (2016). Segment#: 1 [Interview]. Visual History Archive. USC Shoah Foundation. Retrieved May 12, 2016, from http://vhaonline.usc.edu/viewingPage.aspx?testimonyID=52767&returnIndex=0

Citing entire interview

Birnhak, R. (2016). [Interview]. Visual History Archive. USC Shoah Foundation. Retrieved May 12, 2016, from http://vhaonline.usc.edu/viewingPage.aspx?testimonyID=52767&returnIndex=0