Domestic Violence Resources: Find Books

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Check Out New Items!

The Alvin Sherman Library maintains a collection of over 400,000 volumes of books, journals, dissertations, and audios.  Click here for a list of new materials.

On the 1st Floor you will find the following items:

  • Bestsellers
  • Large Print books
  • International Collection (books, videos, etc.)
  • Children's and Young Adult Collections
  • Popular magazines and newspapers (in several languages)
  • DVDs, Blu-rays, and Videos
  • Videos Games
  • Audio Books (Books on Cassette or CD)
  • LeapPads
  • Software
  • NSU Dissertations

New Books

To view the entire list, click "View RSS Feed" below.  To check the catalog for availability, click the individual entry.

Loading ...

Call Numbers

Items in the various collections of the Alvin Sherman Library are arranged on the shelf using different classification and call number systems.

Most items are shelved according to call numbers from the Library of Congress Classification System. This includes most of the circulating collection located on the third and fourth floors and the reference collection on the second floor.

The popular, children's, and young adult collections use the Dewey Decimal Classification System. Popular fiction is arranged in alphabetical order by author, while all periodicals are arranged in alphabetical order by title.

CDs and cassettes are catalogued by the ANSCR system (Alpha Numeric System for Classification of Recordings).

Additional Help

For additional help, please view our guide Locating Books & Other Items Owned by Libraries.   

Readers' Advisory

Need help selecting a good book to read?!?

Browse our "GoodReads" book lists to find new and pleasurable reading!

Citation Guides

Click on a link below to view the corresponding library guide on the following citation styles: