Library Resources for NSU Faculty: Faculty Research

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Tools for Faculty Research

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - ProQuest 
Bibliographic database provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Citations for dissertations beginning in 1861, abstracts for dissertations published from 1980 forward, and full-text from 1997 forward.  To find NSU dissertations/theses, limit your search by selecting the "School name/code" field. Click on "Browse schools" to locate the school name and click on "Add to Search." Or enter the school name in square brackets. For example: [Nova Southeastern University]. Click here to learn more about locating dissertations. Tutorial

 

Sage Research Methods Online - Sage Publications 
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO contains books, journals and videos. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up their research. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and more.

 

Ulrichsweb (formerly Ulrich's Periodicals Directory) - ProQuest 
Details on periodical titles including journals, magazines, newspapers, and other types of serial publications on all subjects. Includes full-text reviews. Tutorial

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users.
 

Web of Science - Thomson (Web of Knowledge) 
Provides abstracts, cited references, times cited, and links to full text when available for articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities (1975 to present). Tools allow citation tracking, exporting of citations, saved searches, and other personalization. WOS includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can also be searched separately.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU. 

WorldCat

WorldCat - FirstSearch (OCLC)
Serves as combined library catalog for books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Includes records on all subjects. Useful for locating libraries with a particular resource. Note: WorldCat includes many - but not all - academic and public libraries. It does include NSU Libraries.

Local access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users.

Grant Writing Lab

The Office of Research and Technology Transfer has opened a Grant Writing Laboratory in the Alvin Sherman Library in Room 2048. The Grant Writing Laboratory will be open to NSU faculty and staff to work with the new Grant Writing Manager, Roxana Ross, on grant proposals and grant projects.

All aspects of proposal development will be addressed in the new Grant Writing Laboratory, from brainstorming, grant/project planning, and funding research, to proposal writing. The services offered in the Grant Writing Laboratory are closely coordinated with existing services offered by the Office of Grants & Contracts, and intended to provide faculty with additional support in their grant seeking efforts.

Request Dissertations

A number of NSU Dissertations are available in print at the Circulation Desk.

Locate the items you need using NovaCat and bring the author and title of the material to the Circulation Desk to request it. 

An NSU ID or library card is required.  Click here for more information.