Women's History Month Resources: Books & Databases

This guide will help you to find accurate and reliable internet resources (websites and databases) and library books that focus on the accomplishemnts and contributions of women throughout history.

Welcome!

This guide contains resources relating to the accomplishments and contributions of women throughout history.  It is your one-stop guide to websites, database articles and recommened books especially relevant for Women's History Month.

Anyone can use this guide, especially the helpful links you will find under the More Resources tab, but in order to check out any of the books you come across or access the databases, you must have a Shark card or an Alvin Sherman Library Card.  The good news is that ANYONE who lives, works or goes to school in Broward County is eligible to get a library card! For more information or to apply for a library card online just click HERE!  Most materials (books, DVDs, CD's, video games, etc) can be returned to ANY Broward County Library branch. 

Click on the tabs at the top of the page to view more details about related library events, finding library materials, and general library information

Use A Database!

Can't find a book?  Search for an article online in a database! 

The databases listed below have full-text articles, images, maps, timelines, audio, interviews, and/or e-books relating to Women's History Month: 

Biography in Context Allows you to search for individuals by name and provides a detailed biography,magazine articles, primary sources, reference works, news and websites releveant to your subject. 

Daily Life Through History- Use this database to search for concept terms (sufferage, equal rights, education). 

Pop Culture Universe- A great resource to learn about cultural aspects of specific decades.

World Book- An all-purpose online encyclopedia provides articles on all subjects, brief biographies, links to websites, images and more.

 

Click here for more information about the advantages of using databases and click here for a full list of databases available.   

Look for the school bus icon for recommended databases for students in grades K-12!

On DVD

Click here for more titles in the library's catalog.

Books for Kids

Click here to see BIOGRAPHIES of FAMOUS WOMEN listed in alphabetical order within the libarary catalog.