Skip to main content

Nursing: Assignment Help

This library guide serves as the HPD Library portal for the College of Nursing, directing faculty and students to the most helpful library resources and services for their academic program.

NUR3000 Transition to Baccalaureate Nursing Education

Assignment: Paper on a topic related to nursing such as handwashing, patient safety, fall prevention, cultural sensitivity, etc.

1. Use one of the databases from the 'Articles' tab to search for articles on your topic. Most recommended are CINAHL Complete or ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source.

2. Try any of the search terms listed below, depending on your topic:

  • safety
  • evidence based medicine, USE medical practice, evidence-based

3. Set limiters on your search.

  • publication date no more than five years
  • peer-reviewed
  • english language
  • full-text

5. Find citations relevant to your research. Add them to your folder (if you don't have one, create one).

6. Obtain the article using one of these methods:

  1. full-text document in the database you are using
  • Or Click to get the article:
    1. full-text document in another database (use Full-Text Finder)
    2. in print at the library (use NovaCat catalog)
    3. request using Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery (ILLIAD)

Contact a librarian if you are having difficulty. You can reach me (Majid) at 954-262-3107 or manwar@nova.edu -OR- you can contact the reference desk by calling 954-262-3108 or emailing hpdref@nova.edu

NUR3160 Intro to Professional Nursing - Evidence Based Practice Paper

THE ASSIGNMENT:

This assignment will require the exploration of the pros and cons of evidence based practice (EBP) in nursing.  An understanding of the concepts of nursing research and evidence based practice as well as their impact on nursing will be addressed.

The paper should include the following:
1. Discuss the pros and cons of evidence-based practice in nursing.
2. How does clinical expertise and patient preferences fit into the total reliance on research as a basis for nursing practice?
3. What happens to the art of nursing practice, which was considered a valuable clinical tool for decades, if nurses rely on research only?
4. Does caring have a role in evidence-based practice?
5. Include your personal response to the key concepts regarding the pros and cons of EBP in nursing.
6. Utilize 2-3 peer reviewed nursing journal articles to substantiate your views.
7. The paper must be written in APA style format and be 2-3 pages in addition to the title and reference page.


Find Articles:
Your primary subject from which you will use as a foundation to build your searches on is 'evidence-based practice'. Use the subject headings guide to find the database's term for evidence-based practice.  For example, in CINAHL, you would select 'CINAHL Headings' at the very top to search for evidence based practice. The results show that 'Nursing Practice, Evidence Based' is the Major Subject Heading for this topic. Put a check mark in the box next to the term and then click the big green button on the right that reads 'Search Database'.

From there you can then add secondary topics in the search box below this, such as 'caring' or 'patient preference' or 'advantages'. Try different combinations to find results that support your points, but keep your main search topic as 'Nursing Practice, Evidence Based"


NUR3160 Intro to Professional Nursing - Nursing Theorist Group Presentation

Exploration of a nursing theorist:

    Florence Nightingale -  Environmental Theory
    Ida Jean Orlando - Deliberative Nursing Process
    Dorothea Orem -  Self-Care Model
    Hildegard Peplau - Interpersonal Relations Model
    Dorothy Johnson - Behavioral Systems Model
    Imogene King - Goal Attainment Theory
    Virginia Henderson - The Nature of Nursing
    Martha Rogers - Unitary Human Beings
    Betty Neuman - Health Care Systems Model
    Rosemary Rizzo Parse - Human Becoming Theory
    Jean Watson - Philosophy and Science of Caring
    Sister Calista Roy - Adaptation Model
    Patricia Benner - From Novice to Expert
    Madeleine Leininger - Culture Care Diversity and Universality
    Ernestine Wiedenbach - The Helping Art of Clinical Nursing
    Faye Glenn Abdellah - Twenty-One Nursing Problems
    Lydia E. Hall - Core, Care, and Cure Model
    Clara Barton - Founder of the Red Cross
    Mary Eliza Mahoney - First Registered African American Nurse
    Walt Whitman - Volunteer Nurse
    Martha Rogers - Unitary Human Beings
    Sister Callista roy - Adaptation Model
    Myra Estrin Levine - Conservation Model
    Mary Breckinridge - Founder of the New Model of Rural Health Care and Frontier Nursing Service
    Mary Seacole - Unofficial Nurse to Crimean War Soldiers
    Hazel W. Johnson-Brown - First African American General for Army Nurse Corps
    Joyce Travelbee - Human to Human Relationship Model
    Katharine Kolcaba - Theory of Comfort
    Ramona T. Mercer - Maternal Role Attainment
    Kathyrn E. Barnard - Parent-Child Interaction Model
    Merle Mishel - Uncertainty in Illness
    Margaret A. Newman - Model of Health
    Evelyn Adam - Conceptual Model for Nursing
    Nola J. Pender - The Health Promotion Model
    Kristen M. Swanson - Theory of Caring
    Majorie C. Dobratz - Psychological Adaptation in Death and Dying
    Margaret Sanger - Founder of Planned Parenthood
    Mabel Keaton Staupers - Led Battle to End Racial Prejudice in Nursing
    Linda Richards - First American Professionally Trained Nurse

Find Articles:  See the instructions for topic searching in the box above for NUR3000, only use your nursing theorist information instead of handwashing. If you have trouble getting the full-text of articles you find, visit this page for additional help: http://nova.campusguides.com/full-text

Find Books:  Use the NovaCat Catalog to search for books and multimedia. Use Keyword searching for the person's name or the theory. You can also use the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). A few examples are given in the links below, but use your own thoughts and ideas to further explore your topic in the catalog. Helpful Hint: If you find a book you like, look at the Subject Headings given in the catalog record and click on those to find more results.

Using Web Resources:  Look under the 'Nursing-related Resources' tab in this guide to find links to professional nursing organizations. You'll likely find information on these websites related to your topic.  Using Google is OK, too, as long as the website you reference is reputuable. For example, here is a web site with information on Imogene King: http://currentnursing.com/nursing_theory/goal_attainment_theory.html