High School Research Guide: RESEARCH

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Continue to Next Step

.

Learning Outcomes

After completing the Library Research Training Module, students will gain a better understanding of:

Step 1 NSU Libraries  
Step 2  Ask a Librarian
Step 3 Evaluating Reources
Step 4 Quick e-Reference
Step 5 NovaCat Catalog
Step 6 Articles & Databases

 

Worksheet

Please download the worksheet needed to complete this assignment.  You may be required to send it to your instructor.

Getting Started - Library Research Training Module

Welcome to the library research training module! 

Download the training worksheet and complete each step of this module.  Each step will help you to learn more about our library, its services, and answers for the worksheet.  You may be required to send your worksheet to your instructor or activity coordinator. 

Step 1:    About NSU Libraries                                                                           
 

Take a quick look at the NSU libraries to learn about the services that are offered  there.  Click here to view the video on the NSU libraries.

Step 2:  Ask A Librarian 
 

NSU librarians are available for a quick question as well as more in-depth help sessions.  Learn the numerous ways to contact the library for help.  Click here to view the video on how to contact a librarian.

Step 3: Evaluating Resources 
  Many students use the web to brainstorm ideas and find information to for their papers.  How can you tell if the information on a website can be trusted?  Click here to view the video on how to evaluate resources.
Step 4:  Quick e-Reference
 

There are some useful resources on the internet that can be trusted.  Click here to access the a list of Quick e-Reference internet resources page.  Under the Grammar heading, take a look at the interactive websites available.

Step 5: NovaCat Catalog
  Books are ususally a great reference for research and papers.  Click here to watch the video on how to find a book using the library's Novacat catalog.
 

After watching the video, open a new browser and navigate to NovaCat 

Run a keyword search on the topic of your choice.

 

What is the material type of the first result?  Is it a print book, e-book, or a web resource?  What is a quick way to tell?

 
  • Find the first print book in your results. 
  • Is it available?
  • If available, would you be able to check it out?  Why or why not?
Step 6: Articles & Databases
 

Databases are reliable resources that are available through the library. The library has over 300 databases available to help you find research information.  Click here to view the video on how to find articles in the databases. 

 

After watching the video, open a new browser and navigate to the main database page to look at all of the ways to find a database that may have information on your topic.

 

If you were looking for just newspaper articles, what link would you click on?

  If you needed biographical information, what link would you click on?
 

Click on the subject "General & Multidisciplinary."  Then, click and open the Opposing Viewpoints database.  Watch the video tutorial for Opposing Viewpoints

    • Click on the Issues tab.
    • Browse the current issues.  What are three that are of interest to you?
    • Click on one of the issues.
      • Is there any statistical information given?  If so, what kind of statistics?

 

If you need any assistance, either with this assignment or any of your research, please contact our reference desk (954) 262-4613.