High School Research Guide: Step 6: Articles & Databases

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Continue to Next Step

Databases

What is a database?
A place where information or data is stored or collected. This collection can be arranged by subject or topic into individual records or specifc categories and can be searched by a computer.

What does that mean?
A database is a collection of information such as journal articles, reference book entries, and dissertations, that has been published electronically by a credible source / publishing company.   The content within the database has been selected by professionals (experts, educators, librarians, etc.) for accuracy.

  • When your professor asks you to find scholarly or peer reviewed journal articles, check out our 300 databases divided by subjects.  Often, you can limit your searches within a database to find only scholarly or peer reviewed articles.

Why use a database?
By searching for information within a database, you will eliminate some of the guesswork when trying to determine if the information is credible. In other words, these resources are not considered "Wikipedia stuff."

Below are some selected databases that students find useful:

Step 6: Articles & Databases

Additional reliable resources that are available through the library are the databases.  The library has over 300 databases available to help find research information.  Watch the video below on how to find articles in the databases. 

  • After watching the video, open a new browser and navigate to the main database page to look at all of the ways to find a database that may have information on your topic.
  • If you were looking for just newspaper articles, what link would you click on?
  • If you needed biographical information, what link would you click on?
  • Click on the subject "General & Multidisciplinary."  Then, click and open the Opposing Viewpoints database.  Watch the video tutorial for Opposing Viewpoints
    • Click on the Issues tab.
    • Browse the current issues.  What are three that are of interest to you?
    • Click on one of the issues.
      • Is there any statistical information given?  If so, what kind of statistics?

Intro to Finding Articles

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Database

Click here for more Opposing Viewpoints tutorials.

Further Readings

For additional information, click on a guide below: