Check Library Learn for more videos (like the one below) on how to search NovaCat for books, e-books, and other types of materials!
NovaCat Search Tips:
NovaCat is the online library catalog for all NSU libraries. You will need to use the NovaCat Catalog to search for books.
If you do not find any results, then check your spelling or the fields you searched in. Selecting different fields will produce different results.
If you find too many results, go back and limit your search. Sometimes a search needs to be modified with additional search words, searching only a specific field, adding date limitations, or type of materials. You can search by keyword, author, title, etc.
If you find too few results, go back and expand your search. Consider using synonyms for your search words or try to use professional language or terminology.
Building on Goldman's Words of Intelligence and Maret's On Their Own Terms this is a one-stop reference tool for anyone studying and working in intelligence, security, and information policy. This comprehensive resource defines key terms of the theoretical, conceptual, and organizational aspects of intelligence and national security information policy. It explains security classifications, surveillance, risk, technology, as well as intelligence operations, strategies, boards and organizations, and methodologies. It also defines terms created by the U.S. legislative, regulatory, and policy process, and routinized by various branches of the U.S. government. These terms pertain to federal procedures, policies, and practices involving the information life cycle, national security controls over information, and collection and analysis of intelligence information. This work is intended for intelligence students and professionals at all levels, as well as information science students dealing with such issues as the Freedom of Information Act.
Application of Big Data for National Security provides users with state-of-the-art concepts, methods, and technologies for Big Data analytics in the fight against terrorism and crime, including a wide range of case studies and application scenarios. This book combines expertise from an international team of experts in law enforcement, national security, and law, as well as computer sciences, criminology, linguistics, and psychology, creating a unique cross-disciplinary collection of knowledge and insights into this increasingly global issue. The strategic frameworks and critical factors presented in Application of Big Data for National Security consider technical, legal, ethical, and societal impacts, but also practical considerations of Big Data system design and deployment, illustrating how data and security concerns intersect. In identifying current and future technical and operational challenges it supports law enforcement and government agencies in their operational, tactical and strategic decisions when employing Big Data for national security Contextualizes the Big Data concept and how it relates to national security and crime detection and prevention Presents strategic approaches for the design, adoption, and deployment of Big Data technologies in preventing terrorism and reducing crime Includes a series of case studies and scenarios to demonstrate the application of Big Data in a national security context Indicates future directions for Big Data as an enabler of advanced crime prevention and detection
Chasing Ghosts exposes the ill-founded paranoia that has allowed the national security state to both feed at the public trough and undermine America's civil liberties tradition. Since 2001, the United States has created or reorganised more than two counter-terrorism organizations for every terrorist arrest or apprehension it has made of people plotting to do damage within the country. Central to this massive enterprise is 'ghost-chasing,' as less than one alarm in 10,000 is an actual threat - the rest all point to ghosts.Authors John Mueller and Mark G. Stewart contend that the "ghost chase" occupying American law enforcement and fueling federal spending persists because the public has been lead to believe that the terrorism threat is significant. The chance that an American will be killed by a terrorist domestically in any given year is about one in four million (under present conditions). Yet despite this statistically low risk and the extraordinary amount of resources put towards combating threats, Americans still worry and the government still spends billions. Until the true threat of domestic terrorism is understood, the country cannot begin to confront whether our pursuit of 'ghosts' is worth the cost.
This volume examines the ethical issues generated by recent developments in intelligence collection and offers a comprehensive analysis of the key legal, moral and social questions thereby raised. Intelligence officers, whether gatherers, analysts or some combination thereof, are operating in a sea of social, political, scientific and technological change. This book examines the new challenges faced by the intelligence community as a result of these changes. It looks not only at how governments employ spies as a tool of state and how the ultimate outcomes are judged by their societies, but also at the mind-set of the spy. In so doing, this volume casts a rare light on an often ignored dimension of spying: the essential role of truth and how it is defined in an intelligence context. This book offers some insights into the workings of the intelligence community and aims to provide the first comprehensive and unifying analysis of the relevant moral, legal and social questions, with a view toward developing policy that may influence real-world decision making. The contributors analyse the ethics of spying across a broad canvas - historical, philosophical, moral and cultural - with chapters covering interrogation and torture, intelligence's relation to war, remote killing, cyber surveillance, responsibility and governance. In the wake of the phenomena of WikiLeaks and the Edward Snowden revelations, the intelligence community has entered an unprecedented period of broad public scrutiny and scepticism, making this volume a timely contribution. This book will be of much interest to students of ethics, intelligence studies, security studies, foreign policy and IR in general.
As the confluence of networks that is the modern Internet grows to encompass everything from nuclear reactors to home appliances, the affordances offered to the average citizen grow as wellâe"but so, too, do the resources made available to those with malicious intent. Through the rise of Big Data and the Internet of Things, terrorist organizations today have been freed from geographic and logistical confines and now have more power than ever before to strike the average citizen directly at home. This, coupled with the inherently asymmetrical nature of cyberwarfareâe"which grants great advantage to the attackerâe"has created an unprecedented national security risk that both governments and their citizens are woefully ill-prepared to face. The Handbook of Research on Civil Society and National Security in the Era of Cyber Warfare addresses the problem of cyber terrorism head-on, first through a review of current literature, and then through a series of progressive proposals aimed at researchers, professionals, and policymakers. Touching on such subjects as cyber-profiling, hacktivism, and digital counterterrorism, this collection offers the tools to begin formulating a ground-up resiliency to cybersecurity threats that starts at the civilian level.
Introduction to US Cybersecurity Careers is a concise introduction to the world of cybersecurity and the career opportunities therein. This book provides a basic rundown of industry sectors, roles, and places to search for job opportunities within the US cybersecurity industry. Within this book is vital information for anyone trying to get into the industry - basic knowledge for those looking to start training for a career, tips on networking and resume-building in a fast-evolving and nontraditional sector, and advice on how to get your foot in the door and become recognized in your field. This book is designed to help those who are just starting out in cybersecurity and those who have training and knowledge and want to get into the industry. Introduction to US Cybersecurity Careers is your first-stop reference for everything you need to know to start your journey. Learn the basics of the digital security industry Get tips on creating an effective resume and making contacts within the industry Figure out the best certifications to pursue and what qualifications will get you your ideal career