National Security Affairs: Find Dissertations

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Dissertations from NSU, Including Specific NSU Schools and Centers

To conduct a general search for NSU dissertations in digital format, start in the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database, pull down the search field menu, and select the School name/code field. Use the "Look up schools" link to the right of the search box to find Nova Southeastern University or, for older dissertations, Nova University.

To find additional works authored by NSU students, please refer to the information below, arranged by NSU School/Center:


Fischler School of Education and Human Services (FSEHS)

  1. Citations and abstracts for some NSU dissertations from FSEHS may be found in the ERIC database. ERIC also includes full text for many of these dissertations. See detailed instructions on Locating dissertations in ERIC.

  2. NSU students, faculty and staff only may use the MARPs, Practicums & Applied Dissertations database to find citations to applied dissertations.  This database also includes full-text (PDF) for many of the more recent applied dissertations.

    Other MARPs, practicums and applied dissertations are available in microfiche only; they are not available in print. To obtain microfiche documents:

    • Local students should call the Reference Desk (954-262-4613) during reference desk hours before coming to the library to request retrieval of the microfiche. Please tell the reference librarian the name, title, and number found on your citation.

    • Distance students may request copies via the ILLIAD system.

  3. To locate examples of dissertations by your dissertation chair:
    • Look in the MARPs, Practicums, and Applied Dissertations Database.
    • Click on the Advanced tab.
    • Select Advisor in the pull-down menu on the right.
    • Type the last name of the advisor /dissertation chair you are looking for.

 


H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Entrepreneurship (SBE)

  1. Find bound SBE dissertations in NovaCat. Click on the "Advanced" tab. Enter a "Subject" or "Keyword" for your topic. Scroll down to "Additional limiting options." From the "Material Type" menu, select "Dissertation." Then, click on the "Submit" button to view your results.

    Bound SBE dissertations located on the 1st floor of the Alvin Sherman Library may be checked out by NSU local students, faculty, and staff. NSU distance students may check out these dissertations through Document Delivery. Bound SBE dissertations located on the fourth floor may only be used in the library; they may not be checked out.

  2. See the SBE dissertations list for a list of all SBE dissertations available in print, sorted by year.



Graduate School of Computer and Information Sciences (SCIS)

  1. Find bound SCIS dissertations in NovaCat. Click on the "Advanced" tab. Enter a "Subject" or "Keyword" for your topic. Scroll down to "Additional limiting options." From the "Material Type" menu, select "Dissertation." Then, click on the "Submit" button to view your results.

    Bound SCIS dissertations located on the 1st floor of the Alvin Sherman Library may be checked out by NSU local students, faculty, and staff. NSU distance students may check out these dissertations through Document Delivery. Bound SCIS dissertations located on the fourth floor may only be used in the library; they may not be checked out.

  2. See the SCIS dissertations list for a list of all SCIS dissertations available in print, sorted by year.



Center for Psychological Studies (CPS)

  1. Find bound CPS dissertations in NovaCat. Click on the "Advanced" tab. Enter a "Subject" or "Keyword" for your topic. Scroll down to "Additional limiting options." From the "Material Type" menu, select "Dissertation." Then, click on the "Submit" button to view your results.

    Bound CPS dissertations located on the 1st floor of the Alvin Sherman Library may be checked out by NSU local students, faculty, and staff. NSU distance students may check out these dissertations through Document Delivery.



Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SHSS)

  1. Find bound SHSS dissertations in NovaCat. Click on the "Advanced" tab. Enter a "Subject" or "Keyword" for your topic. Scroll down to "Additional limiting options." From the "Material Type" menu, select "Dissertation." Then, click on the "Submit" button to view your results.

    Bound SHSS dissertations located on the 1st floor of the Alvin Sherman Library may be checked out by NSU local students, faculty, and staff. NSU distance students may check out these dissertations through Document Delivery.

How to Access Dissertations From Other Academic Institutions

Dissertations/Theses Web sites

In addition to the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database, there are numerous public Web sites that provide varying amounts of information on dissertations and theses from all over the world. The following Web sites may provide citations, abstracts and some full text. Some Web sites provide information on dissertations that are "in progress."