Common Core State Standards (CCSS): Find Materials

Overview

Would you like to know more about the library? Are you unsure how to start searching a database? Has it been a long time since you did research? Do you feel overwhelmed by the amount of resources available - and the many differences between them? We are here to help! Please read the different help category descriptions below and select the one that best suits your needs.

ASK A LIBRARIAN
Get help from a librarian in person, by phone, email or chat.

ALPHABETICAL INDEX TO HELP
A to Z listing of all library help documents.

SUBJECT GUIDES
Find help on a particular subject or research topic. Includes citation guides, subject guides, and tutorials.

TECHNOLOGY CHECKLIST
The minimum requirements to have a smooth experience on our website and the electronic resources.

HOW DO I...
Find answers to the most frequently asked questions we get in the library.

LIBRARY INSTRUCTION
Sign up for classes to learn how to use the research resources, take advantage of free instruction one-on-one or in groups!

Citation Guides

Click on a link below to view the corresponding library guide on the following citation sytles:

Library Collection

The Alvin Sherman Library maintains a collection of over 400,000 volumes of books, journals, dissertations, and audios.  Click here for a list of new materials.

On the 1st Floor you will find the following items:

  • Bestsellers
  • Large Print books
  • International Collection (books, videos, etc.)
  • Children's and Young Adult Collections
  • Popular magazines and newspapers
    in several languages
  • DVDs, Blu-rays, and Videos
  • Videos Games
  • Audio Books (downloadable audio books and books on CD)
  • LeapPads
  • Software
  • NSU Dissertations
  • Playaway and Playaway View

To view more information on how to find the items listed above, please select the appropriate heading listed on the drop-down menu on the "Find Materials" tab.

Call Numbers

Items in the various collections of the Alvin Sherman Library are arranged on the shelf using different classification and call number systems.

Most items are shelved according to call numbers from the Library of Congress Classification System. This includes most of the circulating collection located on the third and fourth floors and the reference collection on the second floor.

The popular, children's , and young adult collections use the Dewey Decimal Classification System. Popular fiction is arranged in alphabetical order by author, while all periodicals are arranged in alphabetical order by title.

CDs and cassettes are catalogued by the ANSCR system (Alpha Numeric System for Classification of Recordings).