Skip to main content

HPD Alumni

The Elusive Full Text Article

Clinicians and researchers are frustrated when they can't get full text articles. Unfortunately, most publishers' license agreements contain narrow definitions of "authorized users" that exclude alumni. Like other libraries, the NSU HPD Library must restrict access to much of our licensed content to current students, faculty, and employees.

The good news is that there is a large and growing body of high quality "open access" literature. Open access is precisely that: access is open to everyone without subscription fees or licensing.

This page identifies sources for high-quality full text. Take a look at the Top Clinical Titles - they are among the most highly cited and open access.

Top Clinical Titles

The Free Medical Journals site links to many core clinical titles. Many offer automatic table-of-content e-mail alerts. Caveat: not all content is free and some sites require registration.

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Annals of Internal Medicine

Finding Full Text Articles

Searching for information on a particular topic? It is more efficient to search PubMed than attempt to search numerous free full-text journal sites.  Use the option of limiting your search results to "Free Full Text Articles." Before limiting, you may wish to scan the abstracts of restricted articles which can also provide valuable information.

Full Text Journals

BioMedCentral Open Access

Directory of Open Access Journals  DOAJ covers all subjects and languages. A March 2012 snapshot of the web site shows 7,535 journals in the directory and 760,447 articles.

Free Medical Journals Indexes and sorts the journals by specialty and language. For some journals, provides information about the impact factor. Can be searched by title, specialty, and new journals.

Highwire Press Clinical Medicine Topics

HighWire Press Free Online Titles A division of the Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free, full-text, peer-reviewed content, with 939 journals and over 2 million free, full-text articles online.

Public Library of Science PLoS is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. Journals include PLoS Biology, Medicine, Genetics, Computational Biology, Pathogens, and Neglected Tropical Diseases.

PubMed Central Provides free access to full-text articles from a growing number of existing publications including Arthritis Research, BioMed Central Journals, British Medical Journal, Breast Cancer Research, Critical Care, Genome Biology, and Molecular Biology of the Cell. Results from searches conducted in PubMed MEDLINE link directly to full-text articles in PubMed Central.