Alvin Sherman Library Mobile: Medical / Research Apps

Compiled by HPD Librarians; includes mobile databases and apps for medical related research.
info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

App Reviews

Citation management apps

Instructions:

Some PDF readers and Citation Management programs can be linked to NSU Library databases to find full text by setting preferences:

   Use authentication URL  https://novacat.nova.edu/patroninfo

   Use proxy setting  http://ezproxylocal.library.nova.edu/login?url=%@

 

Citation software programs:

  • Zotero
  • Papers
  • Mendeley
  • EndNote

More NSU Library Apps

AML College

Access My Library College Edition

Using your college e-mail address, AccessMyLibraryCollege gives you unlimited, 24/7 access to your college library’s Gale online resources.

 

 

EBSCOhost

Download App: go to NSU Library databases and choose EBSCOhost, login with NSU credentials, scroll to bottom for link.

 

Cover Art

 

 

 

 

ScienceDirect Mobile

ScienceDirect's free app for iOS, Adroid and Blackberry devices allows you to access our library's full text Elsevier Health & Life Science Collection from your phone. First, you must register for a free ScienceDirect account through the link on the library's Databases page (look for the "Register" link in the upper righthand corner). Then, you may search the iTunes store or your phone's App Store for "SciVerse ScienceDirect" and install the free app. Once it's installed, click to open it and enter your ScienceDirect account information. Follow the instructions to authenticate your app. When you've finished, you will be able to use the ScienceDirect app to access full text content from your iPhone
 
 
 

Jstor Mobile (beta)

 

Security

What happens if you lose your iPad?

Top Free Android Medical Apps

Nursing Mobile Databases

Free Apps or Mobile sites

Some Tools listed include both FREE and FOR PURCHASE apps. Many are cross platform (Apple, Android, Blackberry etc)

Apps for Purchase

iPad apps

Great iPad review site

Compare QuickOffice and Documents To Go

Don't forget to download the HPD apps in the top of this column!

Printing

The Web Print option in SharkPrint will allow you to print files in these formats:

  • doc, docx or other Microsoft Office Word files
  • ppt, pptx or other Microsoft Office PowerPoint files
  • pdf
  • xls or other Microsoft Office Excel files

If you are not using a Microsoft Office program such as Word, you will need to "save as" one of the file formats listed.