Substance Abuse: Read A Citation

The subject guide to Substance Abuse provides information on resources available from the Alvin Sherman Library, both in the library and online, related to Substance Abuse. This guide covers books, journal articles, web sites, and citing sources.
info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

{{ lg.description }}

Cite Your Sources

When you quote or paraphrase the idea of another person in your research paper or speech, you must provide a proper citation for the source in a bibliography or list of references. This gives credit to the author and enables the reader to locate the resource you cited. 

Providing references for sources you used also lends credibility to your work, especially if you use authoritative sources. 

If you use other people's ideas and do not give them credit by providing proper references to their work, you are committing plagiarism. Plagiarism is an honor code violation at NSU as well as a federal crime. 

 

Citation Style Guides

Tips!

 

Tip   You can use bibliography management software to help format and manage citations. NSU provides NSU students, faculty and staff with free access to EndNote, ProCite and Reference Manager. Learn more. An online tutorial is available for EndNote.

 

Understanding Citations

In your research, you will need to understand how to interpret the citations you find in indexes and bibliographies, as well as how to cite sources in your own bibliographies.


Interpreting Citations

A citation is a reference to a source of information. It should include enough identifying information, including such information as the author, title, and source, so that a reader can locate a copy of the item. Citations may reference any type of information including: 

  • Book 
  • Essay or chapter in a book 
  • Journal article 
  • Magazine article 
  • Newspaper article
  • NSU MARP or practicum 
  • Conference proceeding 
  • Dissertation 
  • Internet document 
  • ERIC ED document
  • Government document 
  • Speech 
  • Radio or television broadcast 
  • Video or movie

Book Citation

Sample of a book citation
 

HINT: When trying to determine whether the library owns a book, check NovaCat by searching for the author or title. 


Magazine Article Citation

Sample of a magazine article citation

HINT: When trying to determine whether the library owns a magazine, check NovaCat by searching for the title of the magazine rather than using the title of the article. 


Journal Article Citation

Sample of a journal article citation

HINT: When trying to determine whether the library owns a journal, check NovaCat by searching for the title of the journal rather than using the title of the article. 


ERIC ED Document Citation

Sample of an ERIC ED document citation

HINT: For information on locating ERIC Documents (EDs), see Sources for Full Text ERIC Documents in the ERIC tutorial.