Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Teacher Resources | World Book Databases: World Book Classroom Early World of Learning

What is the Early World of Learning?

The Early World of Learning stimulates a lifelong love of reading and knowledge and offers a wealth of resources to help preschoolers and children in the early grades grasp critical early childhood themes while developing reading and oral language skills. Narrated stories with word-by-word highlighting, interactive games, interactive reference material for beginners, and more help young learners build vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency.

Trek's Travels offers narrated stories, interactive games, and original videos that teach critical early childhood themes, including numbers, shapes, colors, opposites, and more.

Welcome to Reading provides leveled reading practice to develop and strengthen phonics, vocabulary, phonemic awareness, and comprehension skills.

Know It offers a richly visual interactive encyclopedia that will captivate early learners with non-fiction topics of interest and importance to them.

Welcome to Reading

Welcome to Reading! This engaging online resource was developed to help pre- and early readers strengthen phonics, vocabulary, phonemic awareness, and comprehension skills.

1. Roll over any clickable region to hear its title read aloud.

2. Choose a level A, B, C, or D to view the stories, games, and videos in that level.

3. The Story Corner features a collection of stories, nursery rhymes, and songs with accompanying read-aloud and word-by-word highlighting.

4. Access the entire collection of Videos and Games from the home page.

5. Find printable materials for coloring, connecting-the-dots, and more in Print and Do Activities.

6. Play and download classic children's songs from the Sing-along collection.

Games

Trek's Travels features a collection of educational games to complement each early childhood theme and reinforce learning:

• Sorting games 
• Sequencing games
• Concentration games
• Multiple choice quizzes
• Jigsaw puzzles

Trek's Travels: Book Series

Check out the corresponding Trek's Travels book series and help children develop essential early skills by introducing basic concepts and principles. Click here to find the books in the library's catalog.

 

Trek's Travels: Story Corner

The Story Corner offers collections of engaging stories, nursery rhymes, and sing along songs for more reading and listening practice.

1. Download audio files of the students' favorite songs, story narrations, and nursery rhymes. This is ideal for children who may not be read to at home and for those who are developing their English language skills.

                                      

Trek's Travels: Theme Page

Each colorful Theme Page lists the resources for the theme.
1. The story can be read in English or Spanish. 2. Access Games and Videos associated with the theme under Play and Watch.
3. For Educators offers a wealth of background information, lesson plans, and ideas to help educators integrate Trek's Travels content into the curriculum.