Library Catalogs: National Catalogs (U.S. Only)

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

{{ lg.description }}

Library of Congress

The LC Online Catalog is the main access point to the Library's collections. It contains 18 million catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections.

The National Library of Education

The National Library of Education was created in 1994, however the library collection began around 1872. The library serves as the federal government's primary education information resource to the public, education community, and other government agencies. The catalog allows access to collections worldwide.

 

Worldcat

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. It allows you to locate a book, video or other item of interest and discover which libraries near you own the item using the zip code search feature. Individual member libraries in your community and elsewhere provide the actual services, such as loaning you a book or providing access to online articles. WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands of other libraries around the world.

The National Archives

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you.

The US National Library of Medicine

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.