Find Homework (K-12) Resources: Library Databases

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

On this page...

You will learn about library databases and how to use them to search for information.

General Databases

Search within these databases for information on events and people.

Keywords

Search for articles using keywords that describe your topic. Watch this video demonstrating how to get your keywords.

Boolean Operators

Watch this video demonstrating how to combine your keywords using Boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT

Related Guide:

What is a library database?

A  library database is a collection of information (articles, studies, etc.) published electronically by a credible publisher.

Although you use a computer to search within databases, they are not the same as websites. 

Tips for Choosing Which Library Database to Use:

Where can I use the databases?

You can use all databases when you come into the library and log in with your library card.  Some databases can also be used from home.  For each database, look for the house icon with the word "Broward" to know if it can be used without having to come to the library. Click here to view a list of all the databases that you can use outside of the library.

Example of house icon:

Video: "How to Search in a Library Database"

Click on the image below to play a video demonstrating how to find articles in a library database.

 

Need Help Using the Library?

For general library questions, call (954) 262-5477 or email plsrefdesk@nova.edu   |   For research help, make an appointment with a librarian!