Skip to main content

Speech-Language Pathology

Speech-Language Pathology

Step 1: Search the Full-Text Finder for Our Electronic Journals

Search the Journal Finder

 Enter the journal name NOT the article title or the abbreviated journal name (AMA citation style)

 

              
Use the Full-Text Finder to look for a specific journal in our electronic resources.
  1. Click on "Full-Text Finder"
  2. Type in the journal title

 

 

 

Results

  • If the journal is available electronically, one or more resources will be listed.

  • ALWAYS check date ranges and embargoes (if any) listed next to the resource.

  • Check your citation and select the resource that contains that year.

 

Date Ranges:

Full-text availability dates will vary by resource.

If your date is not available in any of the resources, go to Step 2 (Davie students) or Step 3  (Distance students)

 

Embargoes:

Full text articles are not available during the embargo period. (blackout dates)

Example: an embargo of 7 months means no full text for the past 7 months.

Browse for Article

1. Once you have selected a resource, click on the title.

2. The resource will not open directly to your article so browse to the correct year/volume/issue.

3. Once you select the correct year/volume/issue, you will see a list of articles for that specific issue. Browse the list until you find the article. 

 

 

Every resource looks different, the screenshot below is just one example

Tips:
  • Look for a list of years or volumes. Click on the correct one for your article.

or

  • Look for a link to the Archives, Back Issues, or Back List

or

  • Look for a search box and enter the article title.

Step 2: Search the Catalog for Print Journals

 

Step 3: Request a Copy of the Article From Interlibrary Loan

  • Material not available in Nova's print and electronic resources can be requested from Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

  • This is a free service.

  • ILL will try to obtain the article from another library system somewhere in the United States.

  • This service can take several days.

 

 

  1. Go to ILL

  2. Click on  the Illiad icon in the middle of the page

  3. Log in with your Nova ID & password

  4. Click on Journal Article (left side of screen)

  5. Enter the requested information in all of the required fields on the form.

  6. Click on Submit Request

  7. If ILL is able to obtain the article, you will receive an email with a link to your ILLiad account.

  8. Log in and click on Electronically Received Articles to view the article (left side of screen)