Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

NSU Libraries' Student Survey 2016: Online Only

Online Library Survey Summary

Survey Summary

A total of 437 respondents completed the Online Library version of the NSU Libraries' Student Survey, 2016.  The survey was sent out to 39,755 students.  This was the cumulative unduplicated headcount of all active students in Banner.  1.09% of the students responding to the survey identified the Online Library as the library they used or visited most frequently.  53.42% of the respondent to the Online Library survey, identified themselves as being affiliated with one of the Health Professional Division colleges.

The following questions were asked on the survey:

Question 1: How often do you use the library website to do the following?

  • Ask A Librarian (chat, email, phone, text, etc.): 42.1%         
  • Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery: 38.9%          
  • Library Learn (Library instruction videos): 38.4%    
  • Online workshops (Live or recorded): 39.4%           
  • E-Reserves: 25%       
  • Library catalog (NovaCat): 75.3%    
  • Use library subject/resource guides: 73.3%  
  • Search for articles using library databases in your discipline: 91.3%           
  • Use the FindIt! Option: 57.8%
  • Use e-books: 59.9%   
  • Use library suggested apps: 24.8%

 [Percentage shows combined frequency of use compared to never]

439 students answered this question. The primary reason NSU students use the online library is to do searches for articles using library databases in their discipline (91.3%).

Question 2: What factors would influence you to use the library more? (Check all that apply)

439 students answered this question and left 61 comments. Class assignments and faculty were most likely influence students to use the library.  

In the comments 22 students wrote N/A or that they were online only. Four indicated they wished they were closer and nine students indicated that they wished there was a library at their campus – Jacksonville, Ft. Myers, Miami, Orlando, etc.  Eight students addressed the databases and suggested easier access, integrated database searching, and more databases. Three asked for more online training or guides.

  • Professor/advisor/chair: 46.47%
  • Better library resources: 26.65%
  • Colleagues/classmates : 20.50%
  • Family/friends: 6.83%
  • Class assignments: 54.21%
  • More comfortable seating: 11.16%
  • Program/exhibits: 13.44%
  • Food & drink policy: 3.87%
  • Group study: 14.12%
  • Quiet study: 15.72%
  • Other: 14.81%

Question 3 Please rate the following:

Students were asked to rate the following services using the following categories: Satisfied; Neutral; Dissatisfied; Not applicable / Do not use.  438 students responded.

  • Assistance – Phone, chat, IM, text/SMS
  • Assistance – By appointment
  • Library instruction in your class
  • Workshops – Live or recorded
  • Library Learn instructional videos
  • Library webpage
  • Library subject/help guides
  • Circulation services (book checkout, reserve books)
  • InterLibrary Loan / Document Delivery services

The highest ranking service (combined satisfied/neutral) was the Library webpage with 86.02%. The highest ranking dissatisfied service was Assistance – by appointment with 2.51%.

The highest Not Applicable/Didn’t use service was Assistance – by appointment as well with 74.2%

 

Satisfied/Neutral

Dissatisfied

Not Applicable/do not use

Assistance – Phone, chat, IM, text/SMS

41.30%

0.46%

58.2%

Assistance – By appointment

25.70%

2.51%

74.2%

Library instruction in your class

50.90%

1.6%

47.72%

Workshops – Live or recorded

47%

1.37%

52.51%

Library Learn instructional videos

46.57%

0.91%

53.2%

Library webpage

86.08%

0.46%

11.42%

Library subject/help guides

68.26%

0.23%

30.14%

Circulation services (book checkout, reserve books)

36.08%

0.03%

63.7%

InterLibrary Loan / Document Delivery services

45.89%

0%

53.2%

 

Question 4: What do you LIKE about your library?

There were 325 responses to this question.  The majority of students responded that they liked the online library. 196 or 60.3% of respondents indicated this specifically. They described it as easy to use, accessible, and appreciated the large selection of materials and the quality of the databases.

32 students commented on the library staff including reference librarians and how helpful they were. 17 students appreciated the services that Document delivery/ILL provided.  Students also commented on the Google Scholar link (4); help with APA (4); the new website (3); and that the online library was available (3).

Question 5: What do you DISLIKE about your library?

There were 304 responses to this questions. 120 students or 39.4% (more than 1/3 of the respondents) indicated this question was “not applicable” or indicated they had no dislikes. 

95 students or 31.25% had concerns about the online resources.  This included the following: 33 indicated that the online resources were difficult to use or were unfriendly. 15 said that there was not enough full text articles and 4 said not enough databases.  13 expressed concern about the new website. 8 didn’t like the multiple logins. And 3 asked why we did not offer federated searching. 3 others had issues with finding/using ebooks.

Students also asked why their campus did not have a library (19) and 10 noted they were too far from the main campus to use the library. 9 stated they had problems with Document Delivery/Interlibrary loan and 4 commented about staff. 14 people complained about the physical library, noting noise, being crowded, etc.

Question 6: Please choose your college.

438 students responded to this question.  The largest number of students who responded, 26.71%, identified themselves as being in the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. The overall majority, 53.42%, identified themselves as being affiliated with one of the Health Professional Division colleges.

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

26.71%

College of Dental Medicine (HPD)

 

19.63%

College of Engineering and Computing

11.64%

College of Health Care Sciences (HPD)

11.19%

College of Medical Sciences (HPD)

 

7.99%

College of Nursing (HPD)

7.31%

College of Osteopathic Medicine(HPD)

3.88%

College of Pharmacy   (HPD)

3.42%

College of Psychology

2.51%

Farquhar Honors College       

1.83%

Abraham S. Fischler of College of Education

1.83%

H. Wayne Huizenga College of Business and Entrepreneurship

1.14%

Mailman Segal Center for Human Development

0.23%

Shepard Broad College of Law          

0.23%

University School

0.23%

 

Question 7: Where do you attend classes? (Check all that apply)

439 students responded to this question.  The largest number of students responded that they attended classes online, 71.75%. The next largest number of students, 19.82%, attended classes at the NSU dedicated campuses in Florida and Puerto Rico.

Online

71.75%

Dedicated Campuses (Fort Myers, Jacksonville, Miami, Miramar, Orlando, Palm Beach, Tampa, San Juan)

19.82%

 

Fort Lauderdale – Davie Campus

19.59%

Other U.S. locations

1.82%

International site

1.82%

Other NSU campus (Oceanography, North Miami Beach, East Campus)

1.14%