PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.
PsycBOOKS is a full-text database that provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by APA, including recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual people and the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. The collection will have cross-disciplinary relevance beyond LGBT courses, serving research and teaching in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
Online reference library of over 500 full text reference books. Includes business plan handbooks, specialized encyclopedias, directories, and other books. Covers topics related to business, education, social sciences, sciences, humanities, and more.
This course is a creative course using the imagination, sound, and body to discover the potential in each human spirit. In this class, the pioneering work of Carl Jung will be applied through journeys or explorations developed by Janet Rodgers and Frankie Armstrong in their book, Voicing the Archetypes. An examination of possibilities for goal achievement will be uncovered in this adventure. Students will investigate their psyches to become more aware of who they are through experiences, exercises, assignments and projects in this course.
This course will focus on what it means to be “normal” by exploring how "abnormal" is defined within neuroscience and psychology. We will examine this by exploring various neurological and psychological phenomenon and disorders. As you begin to define what it means to be you, how do you define “normal”, and how does your definition shape your identity?
Who am I? This is a question many of us have pondered at some point in our lives. But the answers to this question are much more complex than I am a son or daughter, brother or sister, and student. In this course students will assess their personality using a number of psychological tests and assessments to determine how ones personality impacts many areas of life (e.g. school, relationships with others, jobs/careers, and matters of health).
DNA Is Not Everything: Our Destiny Is More Than Our Actual Code. Historically, scientists have accepted that our genes and their unique code determine our fate/identity including physical appearance, personality, and disease traits. However, recent advances have determined we have some control over our genetic fate and identity. Lifestyle choices and everything we do including the food we eat and the stresses we have in our lives have a role in our genetic legacy and distinctiveness without altering the actual code. This course will introduce students to the epigenome project and how your environment, choices, and pressures can alter your genetics in your lifetime and thus your perception of your own identity.
This course will be rooted in crime and identity, specifically criminology. We will discuss how individuals either deliberately choose to engage in criminal activities, or if certain factors outside of their control -- social, psychological, biological or situational -- play a major part.
You have heard of Big Data – extremely large sets of information analyzed for trends in our likes and shares on social media, our purchases in stores and online, our performance in schools, and beyond. Our course theme is NOT about that. We’re going small. Real small. The organizing principle of this section will be a focus on Small Data, the tiny clues that help reveal our personal and cultural identities. Small data you investigate in this course will be shared in a wiki, a remix video, and other activities. Using the work of Martin Lindstrom’s Small DATA: The Tiny Clues that Uncover Huge Trends for inspiration, you will be encouraged to unlock your inner Sherlock Holmes by investigating the Small Data all around you to better understand your own developing identity.
College students rule by thinking analytically, planning carefully, and studying efficiently. This section of FYS will focus on Great College Student Behaviors and Habits. Transform from high school to college by identifying with good study strategies.
What defines your individuality? How does your personality, skills and values shape who you are and where you want to go? Our individuality serves as a compass to navigate the various pillars in our life. This course will help to illuminate your path as you define success in the academic, career & personal aspects of your collegiate journey. This course aims to assist students in understanding what each pillar means to them and consequently how it contributes to their own identity.
The theme of this course is attention. What we attend to in life creates the kind of life we have. “Your life – who you are, what you think, feel, and do, what you love – is the sum of what you focus on” (Gallagher, 2009, p. 1). Topics covered include attention styles; mindfulness; creativity; and the links between attention and health, productivity, behavior, and attitude.
Note: Not all professors may be listed.
Related Library Guides
For more recommended library resources related to these topics, visit these guides: