Copy of NSAM 5005 Research and Evaluation in National Security Affairs: EndNote

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Endnote Tech Support

Click here for Frequently Asked Questions.

Click here for Support & Services.

Contact EndNote support at 800-336-4474, press 4 at the prompt, and then select the "ResearchSoft Products" option.

Alternatively, Email Technical Support for Thomson Reuters EndNote or for EndNote Web.

EndNote Updates

Latest EndNote Updates

EndNote X4
The EndNote X4.0.2 update for Mac OS X and Windows includes compatibility with Microsoft Word 2010 (64-bit) for Windows or Word 2011 for Mac as well as other enhancements and updated content files.
EndNote X3
The EndNote X3.0.1 update includes enhancements and fixes for EndNote X3 for Windows.
EndNote X2
The EndNote X2.0.4(Win)/X2.0.2(Mac) update includes a number of enhancements and fixes for EndNote X2 for Mac OS X and Windows.
EndNote X1
Cite While You Write Update provides EndNote compatibility with Microsoft Word 2008
EndNote X1.0.2 (Win)/X1.0.3(Mac OS X) for Windows and Mac OS X includes an update to allow importing year information after 2009 and support for Windows Mobile/Pocket PC, increase in groups from 50 to 500 per library, and over 50 enhancements.
EndNote X
EndNote 2010 Plug-in for Mac and Windows includes instructions and updated content files to allow importing year information after 2009.
EndNote X.0.2, available for Mac OS X and Windows, includes connectivity to EndNote Web, enhancements and fixes.

  EndNote tutorials

EndNote is a free bibliographic manager available to all NSU students, faculty and staff.

Download Endnote:

(If you are asked for a license/product key, print/read download instructions below!)

 

Free download << Click here 

Attention- Mac users: Choose Endnote X2 or X3. Endnote X4 has a MAJOR compatibility problem with the Mac operating system.

Tutorials:

Start:

Installing EndNote
Setting up EndNote

Create a Library:

Installing EndNote
Setting up EndNote

Export citation from HPD Database to EndNote

Help:

Export/Import Formats

Tutorials from the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library (Yale University):

  • Create an Independent Bibliography: Tutorial
  • Format, Reformat, Un-format your Paper: Tutorial  

Compatibility with Word Processor Software

 Windows Word Processor Comaptibility

 

Word Processor / EndNote Ver.

X4

X3

X2

X1.0.1

EN Web

Microsoft Word 2010

C*

X

X

X

C*

Microsoft Word 2007

C

C

C

C

C

Microsoft Word 2003

C

C

C

C

C

Microsoft Word XP (2002)

X

X

X

C

X

Microsoft Word 2000

X

X

X

C

X

OpenOffice.org Writer 3

C

C

X

X

X

WordPerfect (All Versions)

M

M

M

M

X

C  = Cite While You Write
C* = 32 bit support. See news for more information.
X = Not Supported except using Format Paper Feature on unformatted documents saved in .RTF format.
M = More Information...

 

Macintosh Word Processor Comaptibility 

Word Processor / EndNote Version

X4

X3

X2

X1

Pages '09

C

C

C

X

Word 2011

C

X

X

X

Word 2008

C

C

C

C

Word 2004

C

C

C

C

Word 10.1.2 - 10.1.6

X

X

X

C


C = Cite While You Write
X = Not compatible

You can also use the "Format Paper" feature in EndNote versions X and later (called "RTF Document Scan" in Endnote 7, 8 and 9) and format RTF documents (rich text format) produced by these and many other word processors including iWork (Pages 2008 and previous), Mellel, FrameMaker (RTF only, not MIF files), Nisus, OpenOffice, StarOffice, and others. May disable Spell-Check.



Exporting citations to EndNote

  EndNote Web