Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Library Terminology: S

Click a letter, then click on a word.

Loading

S

Scholarly Article

See Peer-Reviewed Article.

Scholarly Journal

See Peer-Reviewed Journal.

Scope

1. The focus of a work.

2. The purpose of a library collection that determines what resources are included or excluded.

Search Engine

A computer or web program that searches for keywords and topics using natural language. Examples: Google, Yahoo!, and Bing.

Secondary Source

A work that discusses or analyzes primary sources. Examples: biographies, bibliographies, journal articles, literary criticisms, etc.

Serial

A work that is published in successive parts on a regular or irregular schedule and intended to continue publication indefinitely. Examples: magazines, journals, newspapers, yearbooks, etc.

Series

A collection of individual works published under individual titles and a collective series title. Each work is often assigned an individual series number.

Set

A collection of related materials.

Stacks

See Bookstacks / Book Stacks.

Study Carrel

See Carrel.

Style Manual

A composition guide that describes the formatting and citation rules of a particular profession, publisher, or discipline. Examples: MLA, APA, and Chicago

Subject Heading / Subject Term

A standardized words or phrase describing the topic(s) of an item. Used in library catalogs, indexes, and databases to connect related items and facilitate topical searches.

Subject Searching

Using a subject term or combination of subject terms to search a library catalog or database. Only the subject field within a catalog or database record are examined for the search word(s).

Supplement

An addition to a work after it had been published.