Chicago Manual of Style: Home

Basic guide to citing sources using Chicago Manual of Style guidelines.
info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Welcome!

This guide offers examples for formatting endnote/footnote, in-text citations and the Bibliography/ Reference page in Chicago Manual of Style.  Examples included in this guide are based on the 15th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Use the tab and sub-tabs under "How Do I Cite..." to view examples.

What is Chicago Style?

The Chicago Manual of Style was first published in 1906 under the title Manual of Style.  It was one of the first guides created to standardize American English manuscript formats for publication.  The manual provides guidelines on multiple aspects of creating a polished finished manuscript and is credited with leading the way in standardizing citation style in the bibliography.

CMS currently has guidelines for two permitable citation formats; 1) author-date and 2) notes-bibliography systems of citation.

Consult the Chcago Manaual of Style for help with all stages of your research project.  The CMS covers the following components: 

  • Manuscript Preparation
  • Grammer and Usage
  • Punctuation
  • Spelling, Distinctive Treatment of Words, and Compounds
  • Documentation: Basic
  • Documentation: Specific

Chicago Manual of Style Online

For more in depth information on the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) please visit the online version of the guide.

CMS

The Chicago Manual of Style not only covers citing sources and creating a Bibliography/ Reference list, it focuses on all aspect of the research process -- from developing an idea, preparing an outline, evaluating your sources to grammer and punctuation. If you are asked to write a paper using Chicago style, please consult the handbook in print.