Common Core State Standards (CCSS): Books & Databases

The resources found here will assist educators in the implementation of the Common Core State Standards as well as parents and librarians looking to gain a better understanding of just what the CCSS are and what they mean for the future of education.

Welcome!

This guide contains resources relating to the Common Core State Standards.

An Alvin Sherman Library card is required in order to access most of the material available in this guide.

See the box below for information about obtaing your FREE Alvin Sherman Library Card.

For more information and to view our calendar of events, visit the library's main website

Your Library Card

Anyone that lives, works, or goes to school in Broward County may apply for a free Alvin Sherman Library card!  This card is NOT the same as a Broward County Library card, so you will need to get an Alvin Sherman Library card in order to check out materials from this library and to use online resources such a e-books and databases.  However, most library materials can be returned to any Broward County Library branch.

Applications are available online or at the Circulation Desk, located on the first floor of the library. 

Databases and Common Core

Many of the library's databases can be used to research the Common Core standards.  They provide up-to-date inforamtion on studies and developments and implementations  of the Common Core Standards.

 Education Full Text (EBSCO)

Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text articles on education-related topics from periodicals and yearbooks from 1983 to the present.

ProQuest Education Journals

Provides literature on primary, secondary, and higher education. Includes special education, home schooling, adult education, and other education topics.

Homework Helpers

Many databases on the library's Homework Helpers platform can be used to help educators design and implement curriculum based on the Common Core. 

 

 Click here for a full list of databases available.   

 

E-Books and Common Core

A number of professional e-book resources are available to Alvin Sherman Library card-holders. Click here for more e-books on teaching with the Common Core State Standards.

DISCLAIMER

The resources listed here are intended for individual use by Alvin Sherman Library card-holders only.  They are not intended for classroom use or group instruction.   

Books

Our collection of books on Common Core standards continues to grow.  Check out a book from the Alvin Sherman library and return it to any public library branch in Broward County. Click here for a more complete listing of books on Common Core standards.