Find A BookFind an eBookRead A CitationDetermine a Scholarly ArticleFind Primary and Secondary SourcesUse Journal FinderUse FindItRequest Items through Document Delivery / ILLiadPlace An Item On HoldFind DissertationsMake an Appointment with a Librarian
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Company & Industry Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company & Industry Information  

Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013 URL: http://nova.campusguides.com/company Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

See what's new ...

 

Welcome

This subject guide to company and industry information provides information on resources available from the Alvin Sherman Library, both in the library and online, related to companies, industries, industry ratios, market share, and other topics.  The subject guide covers reference sources, books, periodicals, databases, Web sites, and style guides.

Search here...

Search Collections Widget for Library Guides
Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Credo Reference
Quick Search Using Gale Databases:


For more in-depth/specialized research and other materials, use:

Databases by Subject OR All Databases
Find an eJournal: Enter Journal Name

Find Research Tips and Useful Resources:


Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides

Browse by Subject | How To...
Find Select Scholarly Articles:



 

Where do I Start?

Finding information on companies and industries often requires the use of several resources. While some business reference resources may offer a lot of information, chances are you will need to consult several reference books and databases to compile all of the information required for your project. If you feel overwhelmed, break up your project into separate types of information, and focus on one type of information at a time.

If you are researching a specific company, determine whether it is public, private, or international. Public companies are the easiest to research because they are required to file reports with the Securities Exchange Commission (SEC). Privately held companies are not required to file, and as a result are much more challenging to research. International companies can also be difficult to research.

It is often beneficial to begin with a business directory or database (these are listed below in this guide) when researching your company. Pay attention to the ticker symbol for your company (if it is a public one), as well as the four-digit SIC code and/or six-digit NAICS code assigned to your company or industry. SIC codes or NAICS codes will help you compare similar companies in most of the reference books and databases. The Wards Business Directory is an excellent starting point. It has public and private companies. A good directory-type database is Business and Company Resource Center; it has directory-type information as well as rankings and industry overviews.

For researching specific industries, start with the S&P Industry Surveys (available online through NetAdvantage).

The next step is to use the appropriate business databases (listed below). If you are looking for articles in journals, try starting with ABI/Inform, or any of the other databases listed that are recommended for finding articles. For specific topics in regard to your company, try the name of the company, and add other keywords relating to the topic (such as market share, market strategy, competitors, goals, etc.).

To access each section of the guide, click on the appropriate tab near the top.  If you prefer to print the entire subject guide, click on the "Print/Mobile Guide" on the right side of this page. 

 

Need Help?

 

Related Guides

Broward County Logo

The ASLRITC is a joint-use facility between Nova Southeastern University and the Broward Cty. Board of County Commissioners

Patron Portals :: Electronic Resources :: Services :: About Us :: Help :: Home
Alvin Sherman Library, Research, and Information Technology Center
3100 Ray Ferrero Jr. Blvd. · Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33314-1013
Contact the library online or by phone (954-262-4600)
Copyright © 2010 · Webmaster · Equipment and Service Status
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip