Find BooksPlace a HoldFind Articles
This is the "Books & Databases" page of the "Women's History Month Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's History Month Resources  

This guide will help you to find accurate and reliable internet resources (websites and databases) and library books that focus on the accomplishemnts and contributions of women throughout history.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2014 URL: http://nova.campusguides.com/womenshistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains resources relating to the accomplishments and contributions of women throughout history.  It is your one-stop guide to websites, database articles and recommened books especially relevant for Women's History Month.

Anyone can use this guide, especially the helpful links you will find under the More Resources tab, but in order to check out any of the books you come across or access the databases, you must have a Shark card or an Alvin Sherman Library Card.  The good news is that ANYONE who lives, works or goes to school in Broward County is eligible to get a library card! For more information or to apply for a library card online just click HERE!  Most materials (books, DVDs, CD's, video games, etc) can be returned to ANY Broward County Library branch. 

Click on the tabs at the top of the page to view more details about related library events, finding library materials, and general library information

 

Use A Database!

Can't find a book?  Search for an article online in a database! 

The databases listed below have full-text articles, images, maps, timelines, audio, interviews, and/or e-books relating to Women's History Month: 

Biography in Context Allows you to search for individuals by name and provides a detailed biography,magazine articles, primary sources, reference works, news and websites releveant to your subject. 

Daily Life Through History- Use this database to search for concept terms (sufferage, equal rights, education). 

Pop Culture Universe- A great resource to learn about cultural aspects of specific decades.

World Book- An all-purpose online encyclopedia provides articles on all subjects, brief biographies, links to websites, images and more.

 

Click here for more information about the advantages of using databases and click here for a full list of databases available.   

Look for the school bus icon for recommended databases for students in grades K-12!

 

On DVD

Click here for more titles in the library's catalog.

U.S. History: Women's Movement
Call Number: DVD 973 US
Publication Date: 2009

Equality : A history of the women's movement in America
Call Number: DVD 305.42 Equality
Publication Date: 2007

Susan B. Anthony: Rebel for the cause
Call Number: DVD BIO Anthony
Publication Date: 2005

Iron Jawed Angels
Call Number: DVD Iron
Publication Date: 2004

Sisters of Selma: Bearing witness for change
Call Number: DVD 323.17 Sisters

American masters. Louisa May Alcott : The woman behind Little women
Call Number: DVD BIO Alcott
Publication Date: 2010

 

Books for Kids

Click here to see BIOGRAPHIES of FAMOUS WOMEN listed in alphabetical order within the libarary catalog.


Cover Art
Remember the Ladies: 100 Great Women - Cheryl Harness
ISBN: 0688170188
Publication Date: 2001
A chronologically arranged collection of profiles of 100 notable American women, ranging from Virginia Dare to Oprah Winfrey





Cover Art
The Sky's the Limit : Stories of discovery by women and girls - Catherine Thimmesh
ISBN: 0618076980
Publication Date: 2002
Presents brief accounts of the work of a variety of women scientists in such fields as astronomy, biology, anthropology, and medicine.



Cover Art
19th Century Girls and Women - Bobbie Kalman
ISBN: 0865054347
Publication Date: 1997
Describes various aspects of the lives of women and girls during the nineteenth century, including their lack of educational opportunities, restrictive clothing, pastimes, courtship and marriage, and limited employment prospects


Cover Art
Outrageous Women of Civil War Times - Mary Rodd Furbee
ISBN: 0471229261
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Count On Us: American Women in the Military - Amy Nathan
ISBN: 0792263308
Publication Date: 2004
Reviews the history of American women's involvement in the Armed Forces from the Revolutionary War to the present.

Cover Art
You Forgot Your Skirt, Ameilia Bloomer: A Very Improper Story - Shana Corey
ISBN: 0439078199
Publication Date: 2000
Amelia Bloomer, who does not behave the way nineteenth-century society tells her a proper lady should, introduces pantaloons to American women to save them from the discomfort of their heavy, tight dresses

 

  Need Help?

Public Library Services

For Public Library Services Desk hours and program information, please call 954-262-5477.

 

 
Broward County Logo

The ASLRITC is a joint-use facility between Nova Southeastern University and the Broward Cty. Board of County Commissioners

Patron Portals :: Electronic Resources :: Services :: About Us :: Help :: Home
Alvin Sherman Library, Research, and Information Technology Center
3100 Ray Ferrero Jr. Blvd. · Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33314-1013
Contact the library online or by phone (954-262-4600)
Copyright © 2010 · Webmaster · Equipment and Service Status
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip