This guide was created for the Fischler College of Education's Educational Media students. The guide contains links to award-winning YA and children's books as well as links to organization sites and library databases.
"They aren't going to read A Tale of Two Citiesno matter how many times we assign it. Put Dickens away for a bit and try some books that will turn your students into real readers." -Joan Schroeder Kindig What do we ultimately want from our students as readers? More than just becoming readers, we want them to wantto read. Drawing on her personal experiences as a professor of reading education and a children's literature specialist, Joan Schroeder Kindig shares the secrets of how to turn your reading program into one that allows for student choice, entices children with books that are relevant to their lives, and turns kids into real readers. This conversational text has everything you need to jump-start kids reading by harnessing their social life and providing meaningful texts, including: dynamite book lists, organized by topic, that will spark allreaders interests 15 easy steps on how to become a children's literature expert along with guiding principles for identifying books kids will read quick and easy assessments, including the running record and five-finger rule, to identify each student's independent, instructional, and frustration reading levels. PLUS!Essays on student choice and relevance from eight of the hottest young adult authors. Reading is a choice. Motivate your students to read by connecting them to books they can relate to.
Nancy J. Keane is the author of the award-winning website Booktalks—Quick and Simple (nancykeane.com/booktalks), as well as the creator of the open collaboration wiki ATN Book Lists. With her latest book, 101 Great, Ready-to-Use Book Lists for TeenS≪/i>, she provides another indispensable resource for librarians and teachers. The lists in this book are the result of careful consultation with teachers and public librarians, and from discussions on professional email lists. These indispensable lists can be utilized in many ways—for example, as handouts to teachers as suggested reading, to create book displays, or as display posters in the library. This collection will facilitate the creation of valuable reading lists to support the extended reading demands of today's teens.
This volume, one in the Undergraduate Companion series, focuses on American and British writers for children and young adults and is addressed to students in both English and Education classes. It provides both print and free online sources. Most undergraduates do not possess the research skills necessary to evaluate Web sites. This volume will address their needs by providing pathfinders to works by, about, and related to key writers of children's and young adult fiction. Included are entries for 185 British and American writers and writing teams, most from the 20th century. Young adult and adult. Grades 9 and up.
The purpose of this book is to make it easier for teachers and librarians to infuse curricula with multiethnic literature. The list of recommended titles, for grades 5-8, is organized by curricular area.
Selected and recommended by specialists in library service to children, listed books within Children’s Core Collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including a new abundance of books on technology, social sciences and sciences.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection contains over 9,000 entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
This selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library.