Foundations & Grants: Getting Started

The Alvin Sherman Library serves as a Funding Information Network Partner of The Foundation Center and provides a wide range of services to help those involved in preparing grants and soliciting funds from foundations.

Welcome

The Alvin Sherman Library is a Funding Information Network partner of The Foundation Center

FClogo

and provides a wide range of services to help those involved in preparing grants and soliciting funds from foundations.

About the Foundation Center

The Foundation Center is a national nonprofit service organization recognized as the nation’s leading authority on organized philanthropy, connecting nonprofits and the grantmakers to tools they can use and information they can trust. Its audiences include grantseekers, grantmakers, researchers, policymakers, the media, and the general public.

The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. grantmakers and their grants; issues a wide variety of print, electronic, and online information resources; conducts and publishes research on trends in foundation growth, giving, and practice; and offers an array of free and affordable educational programs.

Where do I Start?

The Foundation and Grants collection is located on the north side of the second floor of the Alvin Sherman Library.

To access information in this guide about the Foundation and Grants resources, click on the appropriate tab above.

NEW!!! More Database Access...

Exciting news!! Foundation Directory Online Professional and Foundation Grants to Individuals Online are now also available off-campus to NSU students, faculty and staff. Take advantage of the powerful search features offered by these two databases today!!

Foundation Directory Online Free

990 Finder

Librarian Profile

Sarah Cisse