Find recommended books and article databases to help you to complete your assignments related to English literature, writing, drama, debate, and more!
For more help, please see the bottom of the page to get in touch with a librarian.
Collection of databases containing literature and primary texts in postcolonial, black, gender, and regional literatures. It contains more than 5,500 plays and more than 250,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and essays from Africa and its Diaspora, Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia, and other regions.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals are available (from Volume 1 to issues published 2-5 years ago) in the arts, business, humanities, literature, social sciences, general science, mathematics and statistics.
Presents a wide range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Includes criticism of drama, short stories, Shakespeare, classics, children's literature, and Western literature from the 1400's to the present.
Full-text database provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every time period and literary discipline. Also includes overviews of major literary works, Web links, timelines, Twayne's Authors, and Scribner Writers.
This searchable database has a comprehensive collection of literature criticism, biographies, analysis, citations and more from the entire suite of Gale Literary products. The criticism covers all varieties of literature from the 1400s through the current.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Literature; a vast library that gives instant access to authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in literature and literary studies. The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Literature comprises individual titles covering key literary genres and periods. This online version brings 5 volumes together into one ground-breaking resource, which is easy to access and use.
Provides books and folk tales covering many folk topics: celebrations and rituals; food and drink; holidays and festivals; music and dance; religion and belief; tales, myths, and urban legends; and traditional arts and crafts.
Provides accurate and authorized versions of 1008 copyrighted screenplays. Titles include Bringing Up Baby, Network, In the Company of Men, Drugstore Cowboy, Marty, Your Friends and Neighbors, The Thomas Crown Affair, Suspicion, The Shawshank Redemption, Fort Apache, Notorious, and The Last Detail.
Access World News supports all academic disciplines by providing unique primary sources not found in other resources and extensive news coverage at local, regional, national, and international levels. This product offers complete electronic editions of thousands of authoritative U.S. and global news sources. Includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs and it features a customizable, map-based interface and powerful search capabilities. Enables students to examine subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics, and compare perspectives.
Provides detailed information on colleges, universities, private secondary schools, specialty programs, and scholarships. Test preparation section provides practice tests and test preparation materials for numerous academic, civil service, and licensing tests. More than seventy complete ebooks are included. A resume builder and a career assessment tool are also included. Individual registration is required for test prep, ebook, and scholarship search.