Notetaking AppsPresentation AppsProductivity AppsReading AppsUS Gov Health apps
Search by SubjectAlphabetical list
Get a Library Card?Checkout a Study Room?Search for journal articles on my topic?Get to the library databases?Get the full text to my articles?What is an embargo?Find the full title if a journal name is abbreviated?Find out if the library has a journal?Get the full text to an article that is not available at NSU?Learn how to use the databases?Get help with my research?
This is the "Alumni" page of the "Introduction to the Health Professions Division Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to the Health Professions Division Library   Tags: alumni, apps, directions, ebooks, faculty, hours, liaisons, location, new books, peer-reviewed, projects, renew a book, sharkprint, students, studio, study rooms, visitors, wireless  

Last Updated: May 21, 2013 URL: http://nova.campusguides.com/introhpdlibrary Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Alumni Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  NSU HPD Alumni Info

New graduates retain full HPD Library access for the first 6 months after graduation before their status changes to Alumni.

Options for HPD grads after 6 months: (see explanation below)

 

Become a Registered Alumni:

1. Register at NSU Alumni Portal - you will need your NSU ID number to request database access.

2. After registering contact the HPD Library at hpdcirc@nova.edu or (954) 262-3106 to establish an alumni library patron record. 

3. Registered Alumni are able to use NSU Databases from home with the following access icons:

 


They may also come to the library building to access databases with guest access.

4. Alumni database list

5. NSU registered alumni borrowing loan privileges

Become a Broward County Library Patron:

 1. Do you reside or work in Broward County? Become a Broward County Library Patron http://www.nova.edu/library/portal/browardadults.html 

2. Broward County Library Patrons are able to use NSU Databases with the following access icons:

3. Broward County patron database list 

Open-access databases (free to public) may be used to find e-journals and online articles:

FREE open-access journals available at:

BioMed Central

PubMed Central

PubMed Health

DMOZ

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

Europe PubMed Central

HighWire

Open Access Journal of Clinical Trials (Dovepress)

Open J-Gate

Open Science Directory

PubMed

 

HPD Databases and Icons

HPD Databases and Icons:

Definition of icon:

  • ALL = All registered users may access while they are on-campus
  • NSU, Broward, Alumni = All NSU, Broward County, Registered Alumni Library patrons may access remotely (off-campus)

Registered Alumni databases:

Alumni are welcome to come to HPD Library for guest access to more databases during regular library hours. 

 

Why does my access to databases change 6 months after graduating? (explanation)

Dear HPD Alumni,

 

Thank you for your inquiry into access to the medical databases offered by the HPD Library. It is true that once you graduate from HPD, you no longer have access to the majority of HPD Library databases, although as an alumna, you do have access to most of the general databases offered by NSU Libraries. The reason for this lies with the contractual agreements and licensing we must enter into with our medical database vendors. Their stance is that they are in business to sell their products to medical/health professionals on an individual basis. As a result, they will not grant us permission to allow access to these products unless we pay the equivalent of an individual subscription for each of our alumni. As you can imagine, the costs to us would then be astronomical. As HPD Library already spends over $2,000,000 per year for access to medical/health databases and journals for our students and faculty, it is not financially feasible for us to pay for alumni access as well.

 

I hope that as a health professional you do have access to electronic resources at your new workplace. I would suggest you consider becoming a preceptor or clinical faculty to current HPD students. That group of medical/health professionals who teach our students in a clinical setting are considered a part of our community and receive access to all of our resources to assist with the training of our students. If you would like more information on this partnership, I will be happy to help you.

 

I agree that this seems unfair from your standpoint, but we are restricted by these for-profit companies and the limits that they put on their products and licenses.

 

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

 

Kaye

 

Kaye Robertson

Executive Director

Health Professions Division Library

Assistant Professor, Family Medicine

College of Osteopathic Medicine

3200 S. University Drive

Fort Lauderdale FL 33328

954-262-3123

Fax 954-262-1821

 

Alumni Privileges

HPD Library offers Registered Alumni:

  • Borrowing of HPD Library Circulating Books and materials
  • InterLibrary Loan from HPD Library Collection or Reciprocal Libraries (5 requests per week)
  • Document Delivery from HPD Library Collection or Reciprocal Libraries (5 requests per week)
  • Access to HPD Databases that are designated with these icons: (defined below)

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip