Skip to main content

Introduction to the Health Professions Division Library: US Gov Health apps

About the HPD Library: hours, library services for students, faculty, alumni and visitors

HHS apps

Listed below are descriptions of all 25 of the HHS-sponsored apps available on iPhones, Androids, iPod Touches, iPad, Blackberries, Blackberry tablets, Android tablets, Palm OS/web OS and Windows Mobile. Learn about them and download those that can help you track your health!

  • 52 Weeks for Women’s Health mobile app from NIH

    52 Weeks for Women’s Health
    By: National Institutes of Health
    Platforms: iPhone and Android

    This mobile app is for anyone interested in learning more about women’s health. It contains information on 52 health topics, from “eye health” or “contraception”. Each topic offers lifestyle tips related to the subject. Users learn about the weekly topic and can compile a list of their favorite tips for quick reference. With the app you can also keep track of personal health information like medications, allergies and wellbeing.

  • BMI Calculator mobile app from NIH

    BMI Calculator
    By: National Institutes of Health
    Platforms: iPhone

    One of the most popular tools on the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute’s website is the BMI (Body Mass Index) calculator. BMI is a reliable indicator of total body fat, which is related to the risk of disease and death. The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute’s BMI calculator receives 1.6 million visitors a month and ranks #1 on Google. This mobile version provides results right on your phone along with links to healthy weight resources on the NHLBI website.

  • Brrrd Brawl iphone mobile game from NIH

    Brrrd Brawl App
    By: National Institutes of Health
    Platforms: iPhone

    The penguins are coming, the penguins are coming! When the turkeys of Fred’s Family Farm hear the news that a penguin army is on their way to take over, it’s time for a BRRRD BRAWL! This game is a casual mobile game developed in support of Smokefree Teen. It was created to help teens quit smoking by offering a better option for "idle hands".

  • CDC Field Triage iphone app for health professionals

    CDC Field Triage
    By: Center for Disease Control and Prevention
    Platforms: iPhone

    This is an educational app on injury response for EMS professionals and educators. It includes questions for users to test their knowledge and descriptions of multiple scenarios to test reasoning. This tool provides quick links to the CDC’s Field Triage website, downloadable educational materials, continuing education. The mobile app also provides the latest information on CDC’s Injury Center’s field triage initiative and research.

  • CDC Health eCards mobile app

    CDC Health-e-cards
    By: Center for Disease Control and Prevention
    Platforms: iPhone and iPod Touch

    With this app you can send health eCards directly from your device to friends, family and loved ones. Nearly half of iPhone users and 30% of iPod touch users making health-related inquiries from their device. This medical app provides a way for health seekers to easily share important health tips with others.

    Based on CDC's successful eCards' website, this mobile app features popular eCards and timely updates to coincide with important health events throughout the year, including American Heart Month, Flu Season, Great American Smokeout, and others.

  • CDC ipad and tablet health app

    CDC Mobile iPad App
    By: Center for Disease Control and Prevention
    Platforms: iPad, Android Tablet, Windows Tablet

    The CDC tablet app brings important health information to your fingertips. It features health articles, background on the ‘disease of the week’, popular journals, timely updates and features real time updates from CDC’s social media accounts. It is updated throughout the year to coincide with important health concerns of the moment.

  • ePSS mobile app for doctors featuring preventative services

    Electronic Preventive Service Selector (ePSS)
    By: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
    Platforms: Android, iPhone, Blackberry, iPad, iPod Touch, Palm OS/web OS and Windows Mobile

    Primary care doctors can use this mobile app to identify preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. You can use it to find U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations for patients based on specific characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.

  • Embryo mobile app featuring stages of fetal development during pregnancy

    Embryo
    By: National Library of Medicine
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad

    This educational app offers information on pregnancy and the stages of embryo growth. Videos show the how fertilization occurs within the body. 2-D and 3-D images describe the stages of embryo development. You can use this mobile app to follow your pregnancy, or that of family and friends.

  • Facing AIDS mobile app from HHS designed to reduce HIV stigma

    Facing AIDS
    By: Department of Health and Human Services
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad

    You can help reduce HIV-related stigmas with this mobile app designed by AIDS.gov. First, take a picture with your device’s camera or choose a picture you’ve already taken. Add a poster or sign to the image with customized text saying how you’re facing HIV/AIDS. And finally share that picture with family and friends through social networks or on AIDS.gov’s gallery. You can help reduce the stigma around HIV/AIDS by telling your loved ones how you’re Facing AIDS today!

  • Mobile app from CDC on fetal alcohol syndrome disorders

    Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders
    By: Center for Disease Control and Prevention
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad

    With this mobile app users can access the latest CDC information related to alcohol, pregnancy, and fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASDs). It is perfect for women planning a pregnancy, health care providers, and educators. Users can easily find and share the latest in the prevention, recognition, and treatment of these disorders. This application is a companion to CDC’s FASD website.

    Features include:

    • Alcohol consumption data by state
    • Easy-to-read information on diagnosis and treatments for children with FASDs
    • Individualized pages for different users – women, families, health care providers, educators, and partners
    • Training and education resources
    • Access to free materials on alcohol use and pregnancy and FASDs
    • Information on what CDC is doing in this area
  • CDC mobile app that tracks flu symptoms across the US

    FluView
    By: Center for Disease Control and Prevention
    Platforms: iPhone

    With this health app, you can track ‘Influenza-Like Illness’ activity levels across the U.S. The CDC is required to track such symptoms as they are reported to health care providers across the country. This app displays such reports in your area, and allows you to compare them to period of high and low flu risk.

  • Health Hotlines community service mobile app from NIH

    Health Hotlines
    By: National Library of Medicine
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad

    Health Hotlines is a community service mobile app to help the public locate health-related information. It is a directory of almost 9,000 organizations with toll-free telephone numbers. Subject areas included AIDS, cancer and other diseases and disorders, maternal and child health, aging, substance abuse, disabilities, and mental health. Organizations included in the directory fall into many categories including: government agencies, information and referral centers, professional societies, support groups and voluntary associations.

  • Mobile app from HHS to find HIV/AIDS Testing and Care Services Locations

    HIV Testing and Care Services Locator
    By: Department of Health and Human Services
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad

    This mobile app is a first-of-its-kind HIV/AIDS services locator. It uses your device’s GPS system to suggest prevention and service providers near your location. Use it to find testing, housing assistance, health centers and other resources.

  • Mobile app from HRSA that identifies health center locations

    HRSA Find a Health Center
    By: Health Resources and Services Administration
    Platforms: iPhone and Android

    Federally-funded health centers will care for you, even if you have no health insurance. Based on your income you pay what you can afford. This mobile app helps you find the nearest health center with the mapping software in your phone. Health centers are located in most cities and many rural areas. Type in a city/state/ZIP or place name and click the ‘Find Center’ button to locate the health center nearest you.

  • LactMed women’s health mobile app on breastfeeding

    LactMed
    By: National Library of Medicine
    Platforms: iPhone and Android

    If you’re a new or expecting mother planning to breastfeed this mobile app is for you! This health app brings the National Library of Medicine’s database on breastfeeding into the palm of your hand. Find a medications or dietary supplements you use, and the app will alert you to possible adverse effects the item may cause to a nursing infant. Suggested alternative to substances that many have adverse effect are provided, when appropriate.

  • Mobile app from NCI for Fellows  and Young Investigators career training and development

    NCI @NIH Fellows and Young Investigators App
    By: National Cancer Institute
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad and Android

    The Center for Cancer Training at National Cancer Institute provides training and career development for fellows and trainees in cancer research. This mobile app offers resources for those working for the NCI in the Maryland area. Features include: events, maps, social media integration and quick dial phone numbers.

  • QuitPal stop smoking mobile app from NCI

    NCI QuitPal
    By: National Cancer Institute
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad

    This mobile app will help you become smoke-free! It offers proven strategies and tools to help assist you with giving up smoking. Features Include:

    • Calendar functions to set a quit date, financial goals by date, and reminders
    • Track daily smoking habits with an easy-to-use log
    • Graphic features tracking the money you’ve saved and the number of packs you have not smoked
    • Health milestone alerts and craving tips to stay motivated
    • Facebook and Twitter integration so you can update your friends when you’ve reach a milestone
    • Video diary features, and the ability to receive personalized video messages from loved ones
  • Mobile app from NLM shows video interviews of Native Voices exhibit

    NLM Native Voices
    By: National Library of Medicine
    Platforms: iPad

    Explore video interviews from the Native Voices exhibition at the National Library of Medicine. This exhibit looks into how Native peoples of the United States and Alaska improve their wellness through both traditional and Western healing practices. Hear individuals share stories about the medicinal practices of their native culture. Topics include traditional healing ways, modern treatments, death, and the relationships of health and illness to military service.

  • QuitGuide mobile app from NCI to support quitting smoking

    QuitGuide
    By: National Cancer Institute
    Platforms: iPhone and Android

    This mobile app can help you prepare to quit smoking and support you in the days and weeks after you quit. It describes what problems you can expect when you quit smoking and includes interactive tips to keep you smoke free. With it you can save useful information in favorites and share what you’re reading via Facebook, Twitter, and e-mail.

  • QuitStart mobile app from NCI to track progress on stopping smoking and controlling cravings

    QuitStart
    By: National Cancer Institute
    Platforms: iPhone

    The QuitSTART mobile app will kick-start your smoke free lifestyle. With it you can track cravings and moods and monitor your progress toward achieving smoke free milestones. The app also allows you to identify your smoking triggers, and upload personalized “pick me ups” for support during challenging times.

  • Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM) mobile app for health care professionals

    Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)
    By: National Library of Medicine/HHS Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
    Platforms: Android, iPhone, Blackberry, iPad, iPod Touch, Palm OS/web OS and Windows Mobile

    This mobile app provides guidance for health care providers and doctors on radiation injuries. Information covers injuries patients may experience after a dirty bomb or nuclear emergency. Recommendations are offered with enough background to make them understandable to those without formal radiation medicine training. Information can be downloaded in advance, so that it is accessible during an emergency if the cell phone networks are down.

  • Reunite mobile app from NLM to search national missing and found people database

    Reunite
    By: National Library of Medicine
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad

    This mobile app allows you to use the national missing and found people database. This database was launched to help family’s reunite after disasters and is part of the Lost Person Finder project. The app is primarily intended for the general public to report missing and/or found people. It is also useful for organizations, health care providers and relief workers helping family reunifications efforts after a disaster.

  • Mobile app to find treatment center locations for substance abuse and mental health services

    SAMHSA Treatment Locator (STL)
    By: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
    Platforms: iPhone

    This iPhone app works with your device’s GPS to locate nearby mental health and substance abuse treatment facilities. It offers an easy way to search for treatment centers at home or on the road.

  • Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER) mobile app

    WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders)
    By: National Library of Medicine
    Platforms: iPhone and Android

    WISER is a mobile app designed to help first responders in hazardous material incidents. It provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including identification help, physical characteristics, health information, containment advice, and treatment.

  • WordWeather mobile game from NCI

    WordWeather App
    By: National Cancer Institute
    Platforms: iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad

    When it rains, it pours —words, that is! WordWeather is a mobile game created by Smokefree Teen to offer a better option for “idle hands.” In the game you race against the clock to spell words using falling letter raindrops. This highly rated game has 4.5 stars in the iTunes store and features a fun animated look.

    More...