Juvenile Readers' Advisory: Juvenile Readers' Advisory

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

Welcome!

In this guide, you will find tips and tricks for Juvenile Readers' Advisory, including Accelerated Reader (AR), Sunshine State Readers, Reading Levels, School Reading Lists, and Series Fiction.  

Accelerated Reader

Accelerated Reader (AR) is a commercial software product that is used by many schools as a way of testing students' reading progress.  The library does not have a special section for "AR" books.

Rather than printing out lists, schools are now using the free online tool AR Book Finder. It includes information about reward points and reading levels and can be searched by ISBN, AR Reading Level, and quiz information. Click here or click on the image below to find a school's AR list.

Not in the Catalog?

If a popular title is not listed in the catalog, it may be available in the uncataloged paperback spinners.  It never hurts to browse these spinners to see what you might find on the shelf!

Need a Library Card?

Library card applications are available online or at the Circulation Desk, located on the first floor of the library. 

Series Fiction

Many children will ask for books by the name of the series rather than by the title or author. Please click on the images below to access Readers' Advisory Databases.

KidsReads.com is a free Readers' Advisory database which lists books by series and includes reccomended reading levels.

Mid-Continent Public Library's Juvenile Series and Sequels Database can be searched by series title, series subject, book title or book author.  It contains over 28,000 books in 3,700 series titles that are classified into three audiences: Juvenile Easy [JE] – for birth through 2nd grade readers, Juvenile [J] – for 2nd through 6th grade readers, Young Adult [YA] – for 6th through 12th grade readers.

 

Sunshine State Young Reader's Award

Many children ask for "SSYRA" books. These are books that were chosen by the Florida Department of Education and the Florida Association for Media in Education. At the end of the school year, children vote for their favorite book from the list. For more information about the Sunshine State Young Reader's Awards, please click on the links below.

SSYRA books for Elementary School

SSYRA books for Middle School

Archive of Book Lists 

Book Trailers for Readers -provides short videos of past and present SSYRA books.  A great resource for anyone looking for thier next book!

Florida Association for Media in Education

Reading Levels

Click here or click on the image below for a list of recommended books organized by grade level.

This list was compiled by teachers from the Broward County School System and Youth Services Librarians from Broward County.

School Reading Lists

Due to high demand, many of the books listed on a school reading list are already checked out.  However, most reading lists include a note stating that students may choose any alternate titles by any of the listed authors. 

Forgot the school reading list at home?  Individual school websites often feature their school's reading lists online.  Click here or click on the image below to view a listing of school websites. 

Transitional Books

ReadKiddoRead is an innovation of best-selling author James Patterson to help parents and educators connect their children with the books that will turn them into lifelong readers.  The website offers recommended reading for children of all ages.