Law Library Faculty Support Guide: Home

A guide to available resources, databases, and technology for law faculty.
info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

{{ lg.description }}

What We Can Do For You

The law library offers a variety of services to faculty designed to help you with your research, teaching, and scholarship. 

Faculty Liaison Program

A librarian has been assigned to you based on your research areas of interest and teaching.  Your liaison is dedicated to providing you with specialized research and classroom support.  We encourage you to make use of the library in the way that best meets your information needs.

Research

Librarians can assist you with your research.  Your liaison shares many of your research and teaching interests and will be enthusiastic about working with you and your students.  Some examples of past faculty-librarian collaboration on research include:

*    Creating a bibliography of resources as a research starting point

*    Locating information that is difficult to find

*    Finding sources on legal research databases (e.g., Westlaw, Bloomberg Law)

*    Performing a literature review

*    Preemption checking

*    Providing access to and training on available library resources

*    Setting up alerts in various databases to notify you of developments in your research areas

*    Training for research assistants

We will be available to you throughout your research process as needed.  When you are ready to submit your article for publication, we can give you access to article submission services e.g., ExpressO, help you submit your article to online repositories e.g., SSRN or NSU Works, provide you with information on journals, and help you identify places to publish or promote your work.  Some publication resources are available on the Publication and Preemption tab of this guide. The law library regularly publishes the Faculty Support Newsletter which includes calls for papers, conference opportunities, grant/funding opportunities, other publishing opportunities, and writing opportunities for your students.  Past Faculty Support Newsletters are archived on the Publications tab.

Research Assistant Training

Research Assistant training is provided upon faculty request.  We offer both individual and group training.  We will teach your research assistant how to use resources in any area of law and orient them to the NSU Libraries, which includes the many print and electronic resources available through the Panza Maurer Law Library, the Alvin Sherman Library, Research, and Information Technology Center, the Health Professions Division Library, and the Oceanography Library.  We will show students how to stay organized as they research, how to manage citations, and how to find the information they need.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan is a resource sharing service that allows the library to borrow materials from other libraries.  We can help you acquire materials from other libraries through an interlibrary loan request.  You can place an interlibrary loan request with your liaison or you can use NovaCat to do this on your own.  You will need your Sharklink ID and password to place an online request.  For more information on using the interlibrary loan service, please contact your liaison.

Classroom Instruction & Library Tours

Librarians enjoy teaching students about research and would happily provide research instruction for your class.  Alternatively, we can set up a workshop for your students on a research topic.  Past workshop topics have included:

*    Introduction to library resources

*    Cost-effective legal research

*    Interdisciplinary research

*    Specialized legal research

*    Research for scholarly writing

*    Publishing your work

Librarians will work with you to provide research resources for your students, e.g., videos, research guides, and tutorials.

We can help your students get started with their research in a variety of areas, teach them to use the tools available to them effectively, create research exercises, and provide ongoing support as they complete their assignments.  We can also provide a library tour to your students to give them an overview of the collection or teach them how to use print materials.

 Library Guides

A library guide is an online resource that is similar to a website and can be used to provide information on any topic.  The librarians have created several course-related guides to help students with research in a specific area of law, e.g., Law & Literature, American Legal History.  Your liaison has created a library guide for you with information related to your research and teaching interests.  Your liaison will work with you to determine how this tool can be used to provide you with relevant, timely, and useful information to support your research and teaching.

The NSU Libraries hosts a collection of library guides that they have created for the NSU community.  This collection is available at http://nova.campusguides.com/.  We encourage you to work with us to create a library guide that will be helpful for you or your students.

Faculty Course Reserves

Your liaison can arrange for materials to be put in the Faculty Course Reserve collection for your students.  Items in this collection will be designated as “library use only” and will check out for three hours.  The Faculty Course Reserve collection is located behind the Circulation Desk.

Faculty Support Collection

The Faculty Support collection is located behind the Circulation Desk.  It includes books that may be useful for research, teaching, and publishing.  Please let your liaison know if there are books on these subjects that you would like to recommend for the collection.  A nearly complete listing of these books is available on the "Print Resources" tab of this guide.