Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

NSU Oceanographic Campus Library: Intro to the Oceanographic Campus Library

Introduction to the Library

The Nova Southeastern University (NSU) Oceanographic Campus Library is located on the 4th Floor of the Guy Harvey Oceanographic Center building at NSU’s Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography (HCNSO) Ocean Campus in Dania Beach, FL.  This marine, aquatic, and environmental sciences library serves the research needs of the NSU HCNSO faculty, staff, researchers, and students.  The library is open 59 hours a week (Monday-Saturday) and provides a myriad of print and online resources, guides, tutorials, collections and materials.  The library also provides technology onsite, including 10 computers with various software (i.e. ArcGIS, Photoshop, statistical software, etc.), a KIC Scanner, a color LaserJet printer, and tablets available for checkout.  Within the library there are numerous study spaces, including tables for groups or projects, study carrels, reading chairs, and a quiet study area. 

The Oceanographic Campus Library print collection (including monographs, periodicals, reference, and theses/dissertations) contains over 17,000 volumes.  The online collection currently contains over 1,900 e-journal subscriptions to marine/ocean specific titles and provides access to over 130,000 academic ebooks and 500 research databases through the NSU Libraries. Additionally, faculty and student scholarship is available online via NSU’s institutional repository, NSUWorks, and the HCNSO collections can be accessed at: http://nsuworks.nova.edu/cnso/.  This includes digital collections, faculty publications, conferences, student work (such as theses and dissertations), and HCNSO publications and journals.  

Other campus libraries offer other on-line databases, along with an interlibrary loan service that makes available books and copies of articles from other libraries around the country.

 

Did you know?

Computers & Software: 

The Oceanographic Campus Library has 10 computers available for use, with such software as Adobe Creative Cloud, Primer-E, JMP 10, ENVI 5.0, MATLAB, ChemSketch, Visual HEA 2.6, SPSS 23, EndNote X7, Google Earth Pro, and ArcGIS 10.3!

Contact Us

 
Phone:  954•262•3699 OR 1•800•541•6682, ext. 23699
Email: oclibrary@nova.edu
Fax:  954•262•4021