Skip to main content info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

OCMB 9900 Professional Development: Getting Started

Course guide for the OC Course in Professional Development (OCMB 3340)

Your First Stop in Oceanography Research

Related Guides

Professional Development

Do you want to learn the skills needed to be successful in graduate school and beyond?
Are you not sure what you will do, or how to obtain your dream job after you finish your degree?  

This professional development class is designed to broaden the graduate student’s career prospective and develop competencies in communication (written and oral), leadership/management abilities, and skills related to job acquisition.  This class will benefit students at any stage of their graduate career or pursuing any degree type (capstone, thesis, dissertation).  


 

On-Campus Courses

CRN NAME INFO INSTRUCTOR LOCATION DATES LAB FEE
MARINE BIOLOGY ELECTIVES
34666 Professional Development OCMB 9900 OD1 Dr. Nicole Fogarty Seminar Room - 4th Floor Wednesday $20

Professional Development Textbooks:

Professional Development Suggested Book:

The students will:

  • Gain and practice oral presentation skills using various techniques, for various lengths of time, to audiences with and without a scientific background.
  • Learn how to create a poster presentation and website.
  • Gain competency in Endnote (a bibliography software) and become familiar with how to search scientific databases for articles. 
  • Understand the process of writing a scientific manuscript (where to start, how to assign authorship order, how to determine if one deserves authorship, how to write the cover letter, how to format the article, where to send the manuscript, etc.).
  • Learn how to write a scientific report.
  • Gain and practice skills related to creating figures, graphs, tables.
  • Understand what types of grants that are available to apply for, and how to write a grant.
  • Learn what conferences are available, how to pay for them, what to expect, and why they are important.
  • Learn how to effectively manage time, stress, and people.
  • Gain and practice skills related to networking, interviewing, and writing their resume.
  • Learn where to find job advertisements, how to apply for jobs, what jobs are available for the degree they are obtaining, and the qualities/skills various agencies (NGO, federal, academic, private, etc.) are wanting in their employees. 
Loading

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account |

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: 
 
 
Loading