Skip to main content

Pharmacy Research Guide: Cabell's Scholarly Analytics

An instructional pathfinder for HPD College of Pharmacy students and faculty

Cabells offers resources to evaluate academic journals.  

Features the Whitelist and the Blacklist.

The Whitelist is an independent, curated database of scholarly journals that guides researchers, publishers, librarians, academics, and administrators to the publications they need. The Whitelist provides complete contact and publication information, multiple quality metrics, submission experience data, and peer review indicators for over 11,000 verified journals across 18 academic disciplines. In addition to the journals database, contextual metrics such as the Cabell's Classification Index©, the Difficulty of Acceptance©, and the Institutional Publishing Activity© are powerful tools designed to help researchers search, filter and compare journals when making decisions about publication and to assist administrators in evaluating publication records.

The Blacklist is a searchable database of deceptive and predatory academic journals, the only one of its kind. Our specialists analyze suspected publications against over 60 behavioral indicators to keep the community abreast of the growing threats and to keep researchers protected from exploitative operations. Subscribers have access a database of detailed reports for every journal that our specialists have evaluated and flagged as a probable threat. Each report provides ways to identify the journal and enumerates the specific predatory behaviors that the evaluation revealed.


Cabells evaluates journals based on their Journal Quality Metrics

Journal quality metrics are tools for evaluating the quality of a journal and for making data driven decisions about where to publish, what journal to buy, who to hire, who to promote.
Metrics included in the Journal Whitelist are the CCI, DA, the Journal Citation Reports® Journal Impact Factor and the newly created Altmetric Report.
  • Cabell's Classification Index (CCI): CCI—now redesigned to better illustrate the difference in each journal's prestige and impact across disciplines—is a normalized citation metric that measures how a journal ranks compared to others in each discipline and topic in which it publishes. This metric gives users a way to estimate how well a paper might perform in specific disciplines and topics, choose the best journal for their research, make journal quality decisions, and fulfill quality standards.
  • Difficulty of Acceptance: a journal acceptance ranking system based on subject that shows how difficult it is to publish in a journal within a specific field of study. Each subject in a journal has its own percentage score built with citation data.
  • Journal Citation Reports® Journal Impact Factor: a journal-level citation metric that reports the number of citations that a paper in a journal receives on average over a two-year period. This measurement is often used as an approximation of a journal's prestige and influence. Access to Journal Impact Factors gives users a way to evaluate, rank, compare, and select academic journals for publishing, evaluating research, and managing of library resources.
  • Altmetric Report: a journal-level attention metric that captures instances where academic articles are mentioned in the news, on the web, an on social media. Powered by Altmetric, the leading provider of academic media mention data, this report gives users a way to see the real world impact of a journal and estimate how much media attention an article published in that journal might get.

Source: http://www.cabells.com.ezproxylocal.library.nova.edu/faq 

Searching Cabells

Cabells does not cover all journal disciplines and many prominent journals are not yet included.  Their current coverage is limited to 18 main subjects with many subheadings.  

Pharmacy journals can be found in the health administration, chemistry, biological sciences, and education sections.  

The simplest way to find pharmacy journals is to search for the keyword pharm. 
 

Search the Whitelist and the Blacklist separately.

The Whitelist advanced search lets you filter your search by Impact Factor, open access model, type of peer review, difficulty of acceptance, time to publication, and other criteria.

The Blacklist advance search is smipler, and can be searched by journal name, publisher, country, and ISSN