Skip to main content

Pharmacy Research Guide: Web Resources

An instructional pathfinder for HPD College of Pharmacy students and faculty

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) Databases

PubChem  
is a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays.  PubChem collects and provides information on the biological activity of small molecules. PubChem includes substance information (PubChem Substance), compound structures (PubChem Compound), and BioActivity screens (PubChem BioAssay).
PubChem Help & FAQ

BioSystems
Database that groups biomedical literature, small molecules, and sequence data in terms of biological relationships. 
BioSystems Quick Start Guide

RxMix
RxMix is an interface for building applications that allows users to combine functions of the RxNorm, RxTerms, NDF-RT, RxClass, Interactions and RxImageAccess APIs. It allows users to run either interactively or in batch mode.
RxMix Tutorials:
Using RxMix to Retrieve NDCs for an Ingredient: Interactive Mode
Using RxMix to Retrieve NDCs for an Ingredient: Batch Mode
Pre-Built Workflows in RxMix. Finding Drugs that May Treat a Disease

Computational Resources from NCBI's Structure Group
A centralized page providing access and links to resources developed by the Structure Group of the NCBI Computational Biology Branch (CBB). These resources cover databases and tools to help in the study of macromolecular structures, conserved domains and protein classification, small molecules and their biological activity, and biological pathways and systems.

TOXNET
NIH resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
TOXNET FAQ

ChemIDplus
A search system that provides access to the structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET® system. 
ChemIDplus Lite offers simplified Name and RN searching without the need for plugins or applets. 
ChemIDplus Advanced provides search capabilities beyond ChemIDplus Lite including chemical structure, toxicity, physical property, molecular formula, classification code, and locator code searching.
ChemIDplus Fact Sheet

Drug Information Portal (National Library of Medicine)
provides links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences are included. Search multiple resources simultaneously, by drug name or category. 
 
Small Molecules and Pharmacogenomics resources section

Toxicology, Environmental Health, and Chemical Resource Decision Guide
The National Library of Medicine's Environmental Health and Toxicology Portal provides a starting point for finding reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. This guide can help you select the right resource for your needs. Visit the database table for expanded descriptions and sample records for some of these resources

DailyMed
DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts

RxNorm
RxNorm provides normalized names for clinical drugs and links its names to many of the drug vocabularies commonly used in pharmacy management and drug interaction software, including those of First Databank, Micromedex, MediSpan, Gold Standard Drug Database, and Multum. By providing links between these vocabularies, RxNorm can mediate messages between systems not using the same software and vocabulary.
RxNorm Overview/Tutorials

LiverTox
is a service of the NIH and the National Library of Medicine and provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.  LIVERTOX also includes a case registry that will enable scientific analysis and better characterization of the clinical patterns of liver injury.  The LIVERTOX website provides a comprehensive resource for physicians and their patients, and for clinical academicians and researchers who specialize in idiosyncratic drug induced hepatotoxicity.

LactMed
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

PubMed Health
Not to be confused with PubMed or PubMed Central - PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions.
PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.

HCUPnet
is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization

Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) is a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
Within the DSLD you can search for products either in the market (DSLD On Market), off the market (DSLD Off Market), or consumed by National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey participants in the latest survey in the DSLD database (NHANES)

Pillbox
Rapid identification of unknown tablets/capsules using physical features and images. Pillbox links you to the drug label, clinical trials, breastfeeding safety, and more. What's inside the pill other than the drug? 

Recommended by the Medical Library Association Pharmacy & Drug Section

Resources recommended by the Pharmacy Drug Information (PDI) Section, Medical Library Association:

Pharm Guide - The Best Free Drug Information Resources

FedStats - federal statistics

FDA:

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

National Center for Toxicological Research

SciTech (full text, peer-reviewed articles)

US Patents and Trademarks Office

US Pharmacopeial Convention

Open access datasets:

DataHub

Pricing Information

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Medicare Part B Drug Average Sales Price data (United States)
Manufacturer reporting of Average Sales Price (ASP) data

Patented Medicine Prices Review Board (Canada) 
Pharmaceutical Trends
Analytical Studies

Other Recommended Websites:

 

Evaluating Websites:

Credibility:

 

Is there an author listed?

 

 

 

Does the author cite sources?

 

 Author:

 

Does the author have credentials?

 

 

 

Can you contact the author?

 

 

 

Who sponsored the page?

 

Bias:

 

Is the point of view objective?

 

 

 

Is the author biased?

 

 

 

Are they selling anything?

 

Audience:

 

What level is the target audience?

 

 

 

Is the content comprehensive or lite?

 

Accuracy:

 

Is the information source cited?

 

 

 

Does this site contradict other sites?

 

 

 

What research methods were used?

 

Currency:

 

The site was last updated when?

 

 

 

Is the information outdated?

 

Relevance:

 

Is the site relevant to your topic?

 

 

 

Is the site popular or relevant?

 

 

 

Evaluating publishers

If you are wriing an article for publication it is important in the current publishing climate  to evaluate the publisher.

If there is not much information available about the publisher, evaluate the publisher's web site using the model shown in the box above. You can also find more information using Ulrichs Periodical Directory.

PubMed

Best Practices

Genetics

Recommended sites:

Podcasts