Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Library Guides - Jamie Segno

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Jamie Segno
Reference/Outreach Librarian II
Alvin Sherman Library

Contact Info:
954-262-5484

Guides

Access the Wireless Network
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Mar 28, 2012
Tags: nsu wings, wireless
Alvin Sherman Library Faculty Resources
by Michelle Keba, Trisha Prevett, Jamie Segno - Last Updated Jun 3, 2014
This guide highlights research resources and services available to NSU faculty at the Alvin Sherman Library.
Alvin Sherman Library Mobile
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 6, 2014
Learn about the Alvin Sherman Library's mobile website, database apps, and related apps for students to help with notes, presentations, writing, and more.
Tags: ipad mobile
Alvin Sherman Library Student Advisory Board
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Share your ideas and suggestions about the library! Membership is open to all undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral students of all majors and disciplines, local and online.
Ask A Librarian
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Did you know that there are six ways to contact a librarian for research help? Read this guide for details!
Tags: bb
Basic Computer Skills
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Sep 19, 2011
This introductory guide has been designed for people with little or no experience using a computer.
BIOL 2600 Medical Terminology
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 7, 2014
This library guide corresponds to the course BIOL 2600 Medical Terminology by featuring research tips and library resources to help complete course assignments.
Black History Month
by Serena Brice, Jamie Segno - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
Check it out!
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 24, 2014
Learn about the resources offered at the library including online study room reservations, library student advisory board, research guides, one-on-one appointments with librarians, and databases for scholarship searches and testing practice.
COMP1000 Basic Writing
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Jul 5, 2014
COMP1500 College Writing
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Jul 5, 2014
COMP2000 Advanced College Writing
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Jul 5, 2014
Overview of the research process including how to use information sources, keywords and Boolean operators, and databases.
Emma Lazarus
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Jun 11, 2013
Evaluate Sources & Websites
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Oct 4, 2013
Use the "CRAAP" test criteria to evaluate the credibility of a source that you are considering to use as a reference.
FCAT Preparation Resources
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 24, 2014
Check out these resources to help you get ready for the FCAT!
Find Articles
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Aug 15, 2013
Instructions how to access and use the library's databases to find articles
Google Scholar
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Dec 13, 2013
Learn how to use Google Scholar through the library's website, which provides a Find It! @ NSU feature with direct links to free full-text articles in the library's databases (when available).
Graphic Novels, Manga, & Anime
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Oct 10, 2011
This guide provides an overview of graphic novels, manga, and anime as well as book lists for recommended reading and related library events.
Guy Harvey
by Nora Quinlan, Jamie Segno - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
Homeless Services & Resources
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Sep 24, 2011
The purpose of this guide is to provide contact information for local, state, and national services designed to assist the homeless as well as recommended library resources.
Jane Austen Literature
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Nov 18, 2013
Journal Finder
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Jan 22, 2014
Just for Teens @ Alvin Sherman Library
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 24, 2014
Information on teen events, teen volunteer program, and teen services at the Alvin Sherman Library.
Library Boot Camp
by Sarah Cisse, Michelle Keba, Trisha Prevett, Brian Ryckman, Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 28, 2014
Don’t let the library feel like no man’s land! Come be all you can be by attending our basic trainings on library resources and services!
Tags: boot camp, research
Place Item On Hold
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Dec 16, 2013
When searching NovaCat, you may put a hold on up to 10 items on most circulating books, DVDs, audio books, and CDs.
Poetry
by Matt Buckley, LeThesha Harris, Jamie Segno - Last Updated Mar 5, 2014
This library guide is designed to help you find activities, books, resources, events and more for poetry particularly during National Poetry Month.
Public Library Services
by Anne Leon, Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 24, 2014
Welcome to Public Library Services! Through a unique arrangement between the Broward County Board of County Commissioners and Nova Southeastern University, anyone that lives, works, or goes to school in Broward County can access this library's resources!
Quick Online Resources
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 29, 2014
Links to selected online reference resources and websites.
Raise a Reader Book Lists
by Meagan Albright, Jamie Segno - Last Updated Oct 22, 2013
Research: Getting Started
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
Introduction to research concepts and using the library, geared toward an undergraduate or beginner level.
Reserve a Study Room
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Jun 26, 2013
Study rooms are available at the Alvin Sherman Library for individuals and groups of 2-10 people.
Shark Survival Week
by Jamie Segno, Elena Soltau - Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
Steampunk
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Apr 14, 2011
This guide provides an overview of Steampunk, a subgenre of science fiction and fantasy, as well as book lists for recommended reading and related library events.
Summer
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated May 15, 2012
The Navigator: NSU Libraries Faculty Newsletter (Fall 2013)
by Jamie Segno, Marcia Silverstein - Last Updated Mar 13, 2014
Faculty-relevant news about the Alvin Sherman Library, Health Professions (HPD) Library, Law Library, and Ocean Sciences Library.
Tutoring & Testing Center
by Jamie Segno - Last Updated Feb 26, 2014
The Office of Academic Services (OAS) provides supplemental learning assistance, as well as an array of testing services.
 

Professional Background

Education

  • MLIS Library and Information Science
    University of South Florida
    Tampa, FL

  • MS Leadership
    Nova Southeastern University
    Fort Lauderdale, FL

  • BA Sociology
    University of Florida
    Gainesville, FL

Highlights

Professional Memberships

  • American Library Association (ALA)
  • Committee on Professional Ethics (COPE), 2012-present
  • Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)
  • University Libraries Section, Committee on the Future of University Libraries (ULS), 2012-present
  • Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), 2008-2011

Paper Publications:

  • Keba, M., Segno, J., & Schofield, M. (2014). Making it work: Creating a student-friendly repository for instructional library videos. Journal of Library & Information Services in Distance Learning.

Presentations:

  • Keba, M., Segno, J., & Schofield, M. (2014, May). Distance learning on demand: Creating a student-friendly platform for instructional library videos. Presentation at the Florida Library Association Conference, Orlando, FL.
  • Keba, M., Segno, J., & Schofield, M. (2014, April). Making it work: Creating a student-friendly repository for instructional library videos. Paper presented at the Sixteenth Distance Library Services Conference, Denver, CO.
  • Keba, M., Segno, J., & Schofield, M. (2013, October). Distance learning on demand: Creating a student-friendly platform for instructional library videos. Presentation at the Florida Association of College & Research Libraries Fall 2013 Program, Saint Petersburg, FL.
 
 
Description

  Loading...