Guides
APA Style (6th ed.) -- Library Guide - Last Updated May 12, 2013 This library guides provides help using the APA Style (6th ed.). The guide provides detailed in-depth help appropriate for graduate students, including examples, links to the APA Style Blog and video tutorials.
Applied Dissertation Library Guide - Last Updated Aug 25, 2012 This guide provides resources to help dissertation chairs and their advisees as they work on the applied dissertation.
Distance and Instructional Library Services - Last Updated May 22, 2013 Information and workshops from the Alvin Sherman Library Distance and Instructional Library Services department
ECIS 500: Introduction to Media and Instruction for International Educators - Last Updated May 9, 2011
Education - Last Updated May 14, 2013 A guide to library resources and research materials for the Education discipline
Educational & Instructional Technology - Last Updated Nov 3, 2012 This guide will help you with conducting research in EdTech disciplines.
Free and Easy to Use: Web Presentation and Classroom Tools - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012 This Library Guide supplements the presentation by Jennifer Jensen and Johanna Tunon at the 15th Distance Library Services Conference in Memphis.
FSE Summer Conference - Last Updated Jul 6, 2012 Library resources for the Summer Conference in Orlando.
International Education - Last Updated May 9, 2011 This guide is to help locate information about (1) international education and (2) education in the Caribbean from a local perspective.
MGT 2050 Principles of Management Library Guide - Last Updated Mar 8, 2013 Course pages highlight business resources located in the Alvin Sherman Library to assist students in completing course assignments.
MGT 5012 21st Century Management Library Guide - Last Updated Mar 8, 2013 Course pages highlight business resources located in the Alvin Sherman Library to assist students in completing course assignments.
Qualitative Research - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013 This guide provides resources as well as help with how to locate qualitative research resources.
Quantitative Research - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013 This guide to Quantitative Research provides information on resources available from the Alvin Sherman Library, both in the library and online. This guide covers subject headings, reference sources, books, journals, databases, Web sites, and style guide.
ReSEARCH - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013 This library guide is designed to help doctoral students naviagate through the research process for their dissertations.
Scholarly Communications - Last Updated Apr 22, 2011 The guide discusses various aspects of scholarly communications from evaluating the importance and relevance of scholarly publications to issues with copyright and possible advantages of open access journals and digital repositories.
WRIT 3150 Course Guide - Last Updated Oct 26, 2012 This course guide is designed to help business students locate resources for their class assignments in WRIT 3150. |
Publications and PresentationsJournal Articles Tunon, J., & Brydges, B. (2009). Expanded assessment study examining the citation patterns from traditional and nontraditional institutions and their effect upon the quality of doctoral dissertation reference lists. Journal of Library Administration, 49(1-2), 137-159. Tunon, J. (2009). A review of Action Research in Teaching and Learning: A Practical Guide to Conducting Pedagogical Research in Universities. The Weekly Qualitative Report, 2(46), 267-271. Available from http://www.nova.edu/ssss/QR/WQR/norton.pdf Quinlan, N., & Tuñón, J. (2005) Providing reference in a joint-use facility. Internet Reference Services Quarterly, 9(1). Tuñón, J., Barsun, R, & Ramirez, L. (2004). Pests, welcomed guests, or tolerated outsides? Attitudes toward distances students from unaffiliated institutions. Journal of Library Administration, 41(3/4), 485-505. Tunon, J. (2003). The impact of accreditation and distance education on information literacy. Florida Libraries, 46(2), 11-14. Tunon, J. (2003). Creating a research literacy course for education doctoral students: Design issues and political realities of developing online and face-to-face instruction. Journal of Library Administration, 37(3/4), 515-527. Hunt, C., & Tunon, J. (2002). Partnerships: The wave of today. Public Libraries, 41(6), 315-316. Chakraborty, M., & Tunon, J. (2002). Taking the distance out of library services offered to International Graduate Students: Considerations, challenges, and concerns. Journal of Library Administration, 37(1/2), 163-176). Pival, P., & Tunon, J. (2001). Innovative methods for providing instruction to distance students using technology. Journal of Library Administration, 32(1/2), 347-360. Tunon, J. (2001). Reaccreditation at Nova Southeastern University: How reaccreditation can create opportunities for improving library services to distance students. Journal of Library Administration, 32(1/2), 409-424. Pival, P., & Tunon, J. (1998). NetMeeting: A new and inexpensive alternative for delivering library instruction to distance students. College and Research Library News, 59(10), 758-760. Tunon, J., & Pival, P. (1997). Library services to distance students: Nova Southeastern University’s experience. Florida Libraries, 40, 109+. Tunon, J. (1995). A fine romance: How to select romances for your collection. Wilson Library Bulletin, 69, 31-34. Books, Book Chapters, and Published Papers on Conference Proceedings
Tunon, J., & Brydges, B. (2008) Expanded assessment study examining the citation patterns from traditional and nontraditional institutions and their effect upon the quality of doctoral dissertation reference lists. In S. M. Mathson & J. A. Garrison (Eds.), Thirteenth Off-Campus Library Services Conference Proceedings. Mt. Pleasant, MI: Central Michigan University.
Ramdial, S., & Tunon, J. (2007). Equivalent library services for international students?: A comparison of student responses in Jamaica and the Bahamas with the results of a university-wide survey. In Caribbean libraries in the 21st century: Changes, challenges, and choices. Tunon, J., & Brydges, B. (2006). A study on using rubrics and citation analysis to measure to measure the quality of doctoral dissertation reference lists from traditional and nontraditional institutions. In J. A. Garrison (Ed.), Twelfth Off-Campus Library Services Conference Proceedings. Mt. Pleasant, MI: Central Michigan Press. Tunon, J. (2004). When quality assurance, information literacy, and accreditation issues intersect. In D. Biggs, Ed., Library instruction: Restating the need, refocusing the response: Papers and session materials presented at the Thirty-Second National LOEX Library Instruction Conference held in Ypsilanti, Michigan, 6 to 8 May 2004 (pp. 71-75). Ann Arbor, MI: Pierian Press. Tuñón, J., & Ramdial, S. (2004). Lessons learned: A survey of Nova Southeastern University students in Jamaica. In S. Renwick & J. Kochar (Eds.), Electronic information resources in the Caribbean: Trends and issues: Proceedings of the ACURIL XXXIV Conference held in Trinidad and Tobago, May 23-29, 2004. St. Augustine. Trinidad and Tobago: University of the West Indies. Tuñón, J., Barsun, R, & Ramriez, L. (2004). Pests, welcomed guests, or tolerated outsides? Attitudes toward distances students from unaffiliated institutions. Patrick B. Mahoney (Ed.). The Eleventh Off-Campus Library Services Proceedings: Scottsdale, Arizona. Mount Pleasant. MI: Central Michigan University. Ramirez, L., & Tuñón, J. (2003). Considerations, challenges, and concerns for providing library services to Nova Southeaster University’s distance students in Latin America. In B. E. Massis, (Ed.), Models of Cooperation in U.S., Latin American and Caribbean Libraries: The first IFLA/SEFLIN International Summit on Library Cooperation in the American (IFLA Publication 1005) (pp. 61-66). Munchen, The Netherlands: K. G. Saur. Tuñón, J. )2003). Collaborating on Web-based instruction for MBA students at Nova Southeastern University. In R. Geibert & S. Hunter Harvey (Eds.), Web-wise learning: Wisdom from the field. Philadelphia: Xlibris. Chakraborty, M., & Tunon, J. (2002). Taking the distance out of library services offered international graduate students: Considerations, challenges, and concerns. Patrick B. Mahoney (Ed.). The Tenth Off-Campus Library Services Proceedings: Cincinnati, Ohio, April 17-19, 2002, (pp. 131-139). Mount Pleasant. MI: Central Michigan University. Tunon, J. (2002). Creating a research literacy course for education doctoral students: Design issues and political realities of developing online and face-to-face instruction. Patrick B. Mahoney (Ed.). The Tenth Off-Campus Library Services Proceedings: Cincinnati, Ohio, April 17-19, 2002, (pp. 397-405). Mount Pleasant. MI: Central Michigan University. Pival, P., & Tunon, J. (2001). Innovative methods for providing instruction to distance students using technology. In P. S. Thomas (Compiler), Ninth Off-Campus Library Services Conference Proceedings: Portland, Oregon, April 26-28, 2000 (pp. 231-238). Mount Pleasant, MI: Central Michigan University. First published in Journal of Library Administration, 32(1/2), 347-360. Tuñón, J., & Pival, P. (2001). Reaccreditation at Nova Southeastern University: How reaccreditation can create opportunities for improving library services to distance students. In P. S. Thomas (Compiler), Ninth Off-campus Library Services Conference Proceedings: Portland, Oregon, April 26-28, 2000 (pp. 273-282). Mount Pleasant, MI: Central Michigan University. First published in Journal of Library Administration, 32(1/2), 409-424. Mussell, K., & Tunon, J. (Eds.) (1999). North American romance writers. Lantham, MD: Scarecrow Press. Tunon, J. (1999). Integrating bibliographic instruction for distance education doctoral students into the Child and Youth Studies Program at Nova Southeastern University. Unpublished doctoral practicum, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale, FL. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED440639 Tunon, J. (1989). Co-editor for Plays for children and young adults: An evaluative index and guide. New York, NY: Garland Press. Presentations Tunon, J., & Beaton-Garcia, S. (2010, July). Serving distance learners. Presented at LibText 2010: Services on a Shoestring: SEFLIN Regional Conference, Miami Beach, FL. Tunon, J., & Ramirez, L. ABD or EdD? A Model of Library Training for Distance Doctoral Students. Paper presented at the Fourteenth Off-Campus Library Services Conference, Cleveland, OH. Tunon (April). Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL): Opportunities for Collaboration and Research for Librarians. Poster Session, FLA, Orlando, FL. Tunon, J., & Tritt, D. (2010). The qualitative research guide: Locating qualitative research. Roundtable discussion at the Qualitative Report Inaugural Conference, Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Tunon, J., & Brydges, B. (2008). Digital literacy and adult education. Presentation at the First Role of the Modern Library and Adult Education Conference at National Louis University, Chicago, Illinois. Tunon, J. (2008). One of co-presenters of the Peer-Review 101: Get ready to make your mark workshop presented at the Thirteenth Off-Campus Library Services Conference, Salt Lake City, UT. Brydges, B., & Tunon, J. (2008). Analyzing and comparing the citation patterns and the quality of doctoral dissertation reference lists utilizing two bibliometric/citation analysis assessment tools. Health Professions Educational Research Symposium, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale. Tunon, J. Digital Literacy and the Adult Learner. Paper to be presented at the The Modern Role of the Library in Adult Education Conference, Chicago. Tunon, J. (2006). BI today: Trends and transformation. Presented at the Florida ACRL Annual Fall Workshop, Fort Lauderdale, FL. Tunon, J. (2006). Review of recent research findings on the use of electronic resources by distance and international students. SEFLIN/ILIAC Technology Summit, Miami, FL. Hemphill, L., & Tunon, J. (2005). Using citation analysis to assess approval plans and online subscriptions. Paper presented at Charleston Conference, November 2005. Tunon, J., & Brydges, B. (2005). Improving the quality of university libraries through citation mining and analysis using two new dissertation bibliometric assessment tools. Paper presented at the 71st IFLA (International Federation of Libraries and Associations) Conference and General Council, Oslo, Norway.(ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED490802) Brydges, B., & Tunon, J. (2005). Conducting a comparative assessment of doctoral students’ library research skills using citation analysis tools. Poster session presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Educational Research Association Conference, Montreal, Canada. Brydges, B., & Tunon, J. (2005). Assessing and improving the library research skills of distance graduate students through citation mining and analysis using two new dissertation bibliometric assessment tools. Paper presented at the Canadian Association for Distance Education, in partnership with The Centre for Online and Distance Education, Simon Fraser University Vancouver, BC. Barson, R., Tunon, J., & Ramirez, L. (2005). Patterns of conflict and convergence when proximal libraries serve distance students. Paper presented at the ACRL Conference, Minneapolis, MN. Tunon, J., & Ramdial, S.(2004). Lessons learned: A survey of Nova Southeastern University students in Jamaica. Paper presented at the ACURIL Conference, Port of Spain, Trinidad. Tunon, J. (2004). When quality assurance, information literacy, and accreditation issues intersect. Paper presented at LOEX, Ypsilanti, MI. (May 8, 2004). Tuñón, J., Barsun, R, & Ramirez, L. (2004). Pests, welcomed guests, or tolerated outsides? Attitudes toward distances students from unaffiliated institutions. Paper presented at the Off-Campus Library Services Conference, Scottsdale, AZ. Pival, P., & Tuñón, J. (2002). How do you spell “support”? Multiple methods of library support to distributed education programs. Paper presented at the North American Regional Distance Education Conference, ICDE/Canadian Association of Distance Education, Calgary, Canada. Chakraborty, M., & Tuñón, J. (2002). Going the distance: Solutions and
Comments (0)
|


Loading...
